Skip to content

Thanksgiving 2012

November 21, 2012

I’ve had some stressful Thanksgivings with Joseph. His first thanksgiving, I spilled homemade ranch dressing on him and me, and his leg burst out in hives. His second was spent at a brother-in-law’s house, and I was just stressed out, though they were very accommodating in making sure Joseph had food to eat. This year, I’m hosting, which will have its own amount of stress, but I do like to have control over the food. Here’s what I plan for the menu.

Joseph-safe foods

  • Turkey – Unfortunately, the turkeys on sale at the store I go to had butter/milk listed in the ingredients, probably injected into the turkey. Now that he can tolerate baked milk, he probably would be ok with a roasted turkey with milk, but I decided to go on the safe side and get a Butterball.
  • Crescent Rolls – I’m perfecting my gluten free crescent rolls, so I’m only making enough for him.
  • Mashed Potatoes – I’m actually going to be making most of them full of dairy, but I’ll keep a separate bowl without milk for Joseph.
  • Corn – frozen corn, boiled. Not terribly exciting
  • Carrots – sliced, boiled, then drizzled with olive oil and pepper.
  • Cranberry sauce – from a can. I don’t expect many people to eat it, so I don’t see why I should put more effort into it. 🙂
  • Sparkling cider
  • Holiday Jell-O
  • Rice Krispie Treats
  • Pumpkin Pie – made by my sister-in-law. She said she wanted to attempt it, and I said go for it.

Non Joseph-safe foods

  • Stuffing – I decided to take the easy route and get a packaged mix that Joseph can’t eat. I’m hoping that with the turkey and rolls, Joseph won’t mind too much.
  • Gravy
  • Pies brought by other people.

What are your favorite foods to eat at Thanksgiving?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. colleenmoore0301 permalink
    November 21, 2012 5:31 am

    I know you’re still perfecting your crescent rolls, but can I have your current recipe in the meantime? 🙂

  2. November 21, 2012 7:21 am

    I have a great ginger snap crust pumpkin pie recipe which is easy because I can use GF ginger snaps and it turns out great. Of course I don’t have a dairy free pumpkin pie recipe though.

    • November 21, 2012 10:43 am

      With storebought GF cookies, the crust shouldn’t be too hard. And I don’t think the filling will be too hard, substituting coconut milk for the sweetened condensed milk. it’s just getting enough sugar in there to make it taste right.

Leave a Reply

