Skip to content

Gluten Free Flour Blend

December 5, 2012

Pie Crust 067For the last 2 1/2 years, I’ve stuck with buying King Arthur Gluten-Free Multipurpose Flour for my gluten-free flour. But, it gets a bit spendy. So I decided that it was time for me to mix my own blend, like so many other gluten-free chefs do.

There are multiple recipes people have come up with, with various opinions on what brands to get. Silvana Nardone swears by the Shiloh Farms tapioca flour for the non-existant smell. Annalise Roberts recommends Authentic Foods brown rice flour since it is so well ground. I decided to just go with what I had and see how that turned out. My store sells Bob’s Red Mill, and my friends gave me a big bag of Arrowhead Mills brown rice flour since they don’t eat gluten-free.

The ratio I followed was the one that I’ve been posting on all my blogs. It also happens to be the one from Annalise Roberts. 2 parts brown rice flour, 2/3 part potato starch, and 1/3 part tapioca flour. To fill my flour container, it took:

  • 6 cups brown rice flour
  • 2 cups potato starch
  • 1 cup tapioca flour

I haven’t used much of it yet, but I’ll be talking about the results as I bake over the next few months.

What kind of gluten-free flour do you use?

Edit March 11, 2013. It took me 3 months to use up this batch of flour. I found the Arrowhead Mills rice flour to be too gritty, so for the next batch, I used half Arrowhead Mills (to use it up) and half Bob’s Red Mill.


cover copy copy

This recipe is featured in my cookbook The Best of the Rice of Life: Over 70 Gluten-free, Dairy-free, and Nut-free Recipes available now in print (Amazon, Create Space) and e-book (Kindle, iBooks, nook, Kobo and Smashwords).

19 Comments leave one →
  1. Carol permalink
    September 24, 2014 5:16 pm

    Canola oil is NOT healthy. It is made from rapeseed, and in order for it to be made edible, it is HIGHLY processed so it can be eaten. i would choose another, healthy oil, instead.

Trackbacks

  1. Chocolate Chip Cranberry Bread Trial: Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free « The Rice of Life
  2. Blueberry Chocolate Pancakes Trial: Gluten-free, Nut-free « The Rice of Life
  3. Brownies Trial: Gluten-free, Nut-free « The Rice of Life
  4. Strawberry Cake Trial: Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free | The Rice of Life
  5. Quinoa Banana Bread Trial: Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free | The Rice of Life
  6. Peach Cobbler Trial: Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free | The Rice of Life
  7. Tamale Pie Trial: Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free | The Rice of Life
  8. Orange Rolls Trial: Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free | The Rice of Life
  9. Banana Cake Trial: Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free | The Rice of Life
  10. Chocolate Muffins Trial: Gluten-free, Dairy-free | The Rice of Life
  11. Gnocchi Trial: Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free | The Rice of Life
  12. Strawberry-Rhubarb Crisp Trial: Gluten-free, Nut-free | The Rice of Life
  13. Chocolate Zucchini Bread: Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free | The Rice of Life
  14. Bacon Cheeseburger Buns Trial: Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free | The Rice of Life
  15. Cranberry Orange Scones Trial: Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free | The Rice of Life
  16. Crescent Rolls: Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free | The Rice of Life
  17. Hot Cross Buns Trial: Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free | The Rice of Life

Leave a Reply

