Skip to content

Caring for Eczema

December 12, 2012

When my mom watches Joseph, she’s done a great job at treating his flareups. When we pick him up after being gone for a few days, his skin has been almost clear.

Then we get home, and slowly it starts to come back. Perhaps there’s something in our environment (he did sneak a sour cream and onion pringle at home and got some small hives around his mouth), but I’m guessing its more because I’m not doing nearly as good a job as she did in keeping his skin moisturized. Part of the reason for that is it has become a real battle to change his diaper, (yes, we’re working on potty training, but that’s a battle too) so when I finally get a new diaper on, I’ll skip straight to battling to put his pants on instead of also fighting to put cream behind his knees. I also haven’t been giving Joseph a daily bath, and I think that could help with his skin too.

I’ve been thinking about this, since I heard about a free app to track eczema. Do you use anything to track flareups? I haven’t, really.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 20, 2012 10:18 am

    Yeah we have diaper battles over here too, and clothes battles and shoes battles. Something I’ve tried recently is playing dumb about the shoes and socks. I’ll put the socks on Sera’s hands, pretending like that is where they go. This makes her laugh and she pulls the sock off her hand and points to her foot. Then I put the sock on her foot. I don’t know how you would do this with diapers though…..but you could try to pull Joseph’s pants on his head or arm to make him laugh and then he might try to show you how much smarter he is than you by telling you to put them on the right way. That might save you a few tantrums.

    • December 27, 2012 2:15 pm

      I do that sometimes. Most often with diapers i’ve let him choose his own diaper, which he likes to do. It’s just frustrating when I have to get everyone ready to take my daughter to preschool though.

  2. Beth Sower permalink
    July 26, 2013 10:09 pm

    Hello I also have a son that suffers from eczema and allergies. Alexander will be three in October. This past spring we could not keep his skin clear of his eczema so we did more food allergy testing to get to the bottom of it. This only reduced his intake of food. We resorted to take him to a hospital in Denver, Co. It was the best decision ever!! If only the local Dr. Office offered the same information. Before our trip to Denver, I would keep him moisturized with aquafor and creams that were prescriptions. I would bath his every night and apply more aquafor. He would fall asleep every night exhausted, itching his scalp, face, legs, stomach, hands and feet. We were instructed to bath him twice a day for 20 minutes, with wet washcloths over his shoulders and one over his head. He needed to soak for 20 minutes in warm to cool water. Then we had 3 minutes to apply aquafor or vanicream to his skin. We were told that if we wait any longer than 3 minutes the moisture is evaporated from his skin. If his skin is flared up we would use the prescription only on those spots. We also use wet wraps on the flared areas. He is now used to going to bed with wet socks (mens tube socks) on his feet and legs. The mens socks reach all the way up to his thighs. I cover them with warm sweat pants to keep him warm. He rarely needs the wet wraps on his back, stomach or arms however if he does I use his pj top and more socks. He tolerates it because it makes him feel better. No matter what he is still two!! The place that I have to wrap is his forehead, scalp and cheeks. Poor guy!! We use gauze wrap soaked in water and a gauze stocking over it like a ski mask. A lot of kiddos don’t have the face and scalp eczema but we do. This all seems so extreme but 2 baths a day keeps him from doing all these wet wraps and using steroid creams. If he eats dairy, egg, soy or nuts the flares are a different story. The baths usually allow him to enjoy playing outside without a miserable itchy night to follow. I am thankful for the experience and my sons comfort. I feel the need to share the information with other mothers dealing with eczema. All children are different and have different severities, however If the information can help in any way I am eager to offer the relief for these sweet little ones. I have really enjoyed reading about your experiences and food storage ideas. My husband and I have been working on our food storage for the past 2 years. We have now found out that Alexander can’t eat most of it. I appreciate all your input and will be utilizing some of your ideas. THANK YOU!! I probably shared more than necessary… God Bless!

  3. Beth Sower permalink
    July 26, 2013 10:38 pm

    Just an FYI, we are battling the potting training as well. I have placed a pair of big boy underwear out where he sees them daily. It’s just a reminder that when he decides to go potty all the time he can start wearing them. (Just like big brother) However this week he has decided that it is great fun to pee in the bath tub. Even if there is no water. Gross huh! I do a lot of cleaning in the bath tub. Alexander does better with rewards (he loves stickers) where as his brother did better with choices. We would give him two acceptable options the choose from and he felt in better control, but knew his limits. (Example we told him that he could use the small potty or the travel seat. He could also choose the pull ups at the store. He is the one who chooses what clothes he wears everyday. This method backfired on my sister in law. Here daughter told here that some day she would have to make the decision and not leave it up to her. Ha ha) I had a friend of mine that let her little one draw on the toilet paper squares to occupy them while they sat there. Let the tub water run and it helps the go. No matter what I think it’s the hardest thing to do especially when you work all the time. When they’re at daycare all day and your methods are different. No matter what it doesn’t last forever. Before you know it they will be asking for their driver’s license. (I also have a teenager in the house) The eczema will be better once we get rid of the diapers! We switched to chlorine free diapers and pull ups and that helped his diaper area rashes. I’ll stop talking now. God Bless!

    • July 27, 2013 1:32 pm

      Thanks for sharing your process. I stay at home with my kids, so that’s helpful at least. I have found, though, that the only way to get him to want to go on the potty is to give him underwear so he actually feels gross when he has an accident. Makes laundry so much fun

Leave a Reply

