Skip to content

Chicken Taco Chili Trial: Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free

December 14, 2012

I’ve had this Chicken Taco Chili from Photo a Day pinned on Pinterest for awhile, so I’m glad that I finally got around to making it.

The Changes

This recipe is already Joseph-safe, so I didn’t make any changes

chicken chili 001

The Method

Stir together all ingredients except chicken in a crockpot.

chicken chili 002

Layer chicken on top, then cook on high for about 6 hours. Shred chicken, stir to mix it in, and serve.

chicken chili 003

Chicken Taco Chili

Adapted from Skinny Taste

Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free

Ingredients

  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 16-oz can black beans
  • 1 16-oz can kidney beans
  • 1 8-oz can tomato sauce
  • 2 cups frozen corn kernels
  • 2 14.5-oz cans diced tomatoes with chilies
  • 2 Tablespoons taco seasoning
  • 1 Tablespoon cumin
  • 1 Tablespoon chili powder
  • 3 boneless skinless chicken breasts

Combine all ingredients except chicken in a large crockpot. Top with chicken. Cook on high for 6 hours. Shred chicken, stir to mix it in, and serve.

Makes 6 servings

What I Thought

This recipe was nice. The spiciness was quite mild, which was good for our wimpy tastebuds. It could have used more salt, probably due to the fact that I used less taco seasoning than it called for. My daughter refused to touch it, and Joseph only wanted to eat the “soup chicken”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda permalink
    December 14, 2012 6:18 am

    This sounds good! I’d probably have to make it a bit spicier though 😉 I have a chili recipe that’s gluten-free and free of the top 8 allergens if you’re interested. It uses only 1 pot and it takes about 25 minutes to make. I’m not sure if there’s anything else in it that’s not safe for Joseph though … but I make it all the time because it’s so quick and easy and won’t kill me 🙂

    • December 14, 2012 7:09 am

      My main problem with Joseph-safe chilis is that I prefer a white chili, which are usually loaded with dairy. Thanks for the offer though.

Leave a Reply

