Skip to content

Faith and Tragedy

December 19, 2012

I’ve seen several people ask God “why” in response to the shooting in Newtown, Connecticut. The same question was asked when my sister-in-law passed away just after Thanksgiving, leaving behind two young children. And while I do believe in a God of miracles, my son still reacts to certain foods.

I don’t have all the answers. But I do have faith that God’s justice will be meted out in time, and that His mercy can help us through these trials. I do believe that “all these things shall give thee experience, and shall be for thy good” (D&C 122:7) but man, it stinks to go through it at the time. All we can do is pray and lift one another.

We have a busy Christmas planned, so probably no more recipes for the year. I’ll be back in January with more First Try Fridays. Everyone have a safe and happy holiday season!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 20, 2012 10:06 am

    Yeah, watching these bad things happen is really hard. When we lived in Texas a family in our ward had their two year old son die in an accidental drowning and it was just so tragic and so devestating for everyone in the ward. I had a hard time asking god why about that, but Joseph Smith said that these children are taken up with God and are blessed not to suffer the evils of the world anymore, but still, it really hurts. It really does. I’m sorry for the loss of your sister-in-law. I hope you can feel the grace of God carrying your family rignt now. I hope you know that even if we are angry at him he still there loving us and waiting until we can trust in him again.

Leave a comment