Skip to content

Cranberry Vinaigrette Trial: Dairy-free, Gluten-free, Nut-free

January 11, 2013

After making my chocolate chip cranberry bread, I’ve been looking for other recipes to use the rest of the bag of cranberries (which is now in my freezer). So I was glad to see the recipe for a cranberry vinaigrette on Tessa Domestic Diva, even if my family aren’t big salad eaters.

The changes

I made a few changes to taste, and according to what’s in my kitchen. I like to use actual sugar, so I subbed for the stevia. Also, I only had yellow mustard, not dijon, and I reduced the amount of salt and pepper, because I didn’t want to overcome the rest of the flavors.

salt, olive oil, sugar, rice vinegar, garlic powder, pepper, cranberries, mustard (not pictured)

The Method

Combine all ingredients in a blender/food processor and puree until smooth.

cranberry vinaigrette 002

Pour over desired salad. Ours had mixed greens, apple, and bacon bits.

cranberry vinaigrette 003

Cranberry Vinaigrette

Adapted from Tessa, the Domestic Diva

Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free

Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 1/4 cup fresh or frozen cranberries, thawed
  • 3 tablespoons rice vinegar (it’s milder than white vinegar)
  • 1 teaspoon yellow mustard
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 Tablespoon sugar

Combine all ingredients in a blender or food processor. Puree until smooth. Serve with a mixed salad.

What I Thought

I’m not a huge fan of vinaigrettes, but this was decent. The mixture of flavors was a bit odd, so I might have to tweak it on my own to get something I really liked. My husband thought it was ok, and neither of the kids wanted to touch their salad.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

