Skip to content

Italian Popcorn Trial: Dairy-free, Gluten-free, Nut-free

January 18, 2013

We eat a fair amount of popcorn at our house. Usually, I segregate Joseph’s since the rest of us don’t like the taste of his fake butter. But I’ve been curious to try Italian popcorn for awhile, so I decided to see what a Joseph-safe version would taste like. The recipe I adapted came from Modern Alternative Kitchen.

The Changes

Modern Alternative Kitchen doesn’t offer any measurements. Really, this is all done to taste. To make it dairy-free, I omitted the parmesan cheese. I also decided to use garlic salt instead of regular salt.

olive oil, popcorn, garlic salt, italian seasoning

The Method

Pop kernals in an airpopper. My daughter likes to read “poplite” on the side.

italian popcorn 002

Add other ingredients to taste and mix. I do half at a time, to help spread the flavor throughout.

italian popcorn 003

Italian Popcorn

Adapted from Modern Alternative Kitchen

Dairy-free, Gluten-free, Nut-free

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup popcorn kernels
  • 4 teaspoons olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic salt
  • 1 teaspoon italian seasoning

Pop popcorn kernels. Pour remaining ingredients over popcorn, and mix to coat.

What I Thought

This seasoning is pleasant, but I miss the taste of butter. My daughter didn’t want to eat much of it, but Joseph dug right in.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Janet permalink
    January 18, 2013 6:25 pm

    I love plain popcorn. I make it on the stove but it tends to burn a bit but I still love it. I have to look into buying an air popper.
    Have a beautiful weekend!

Leave a Reply

