Skip to content

Cinnamon Sugar Rattle Snacks Trial: Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free

January 25, 2013

My kids eat lots of snacks. I try to keep them mostly healthy, but they know that the best stuff is cookies. So, I decided to try out a recipe from The Sneaky Chef to see if I could introduce them to a new healthy snack made from chickpeas (which are apparently also known as garbanzo beans)

The Changes

This recipe is naturally Joseph-safe, so I made no changes

garbanzo beans, sugar, cinnamon, salt

The Method

Drain and rinse the garbanzo beans. In a bowl, combine the spices. Stir the beans into the spices to coat.

cinnamon chickpeas 003

Spread on an ungreased cookie sheet, and bake at 350 degrees F for 55-60 minutes, stirring occasionally (They’ll stick to the pan a bit) until the chickpeas are crisp and “rattle” on the pan.

cinnamon chickpeas 004

Cinnamon Sugar Rattle Snacks

Adapted from The Sneaky Chef

Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free

Ingredients

  • 1 15 oz can chickpeas/garbanzo beans
  • 2 teaspoons sugar
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

Drain and rinse beans. In a bowl, stir sugar, cinnamon, and salt together. Add beans and toss to coat. Spread beans on an ungreased cookie sheet and bake at 350 degrees F for 55-60 minutes, stirring occasionally, until beans are crisp and “rattle” on the pan.

What I Thought

An hour was way too long for these. Mine ended up quite charred. They’d have been fine at the 40 minute mark, but I thought that they needed to be cooked longer, because the recipe couldn’t possibly have been off by that much. Ah, live and learn. I was also surprised that I couldn’t really taste the cinnamon sugar coating. My daughter had one, and then refused the rest. Joseph refused them on principle. My husband ate one, made a funny face, and then put the other two he was holding back in the bowl. We won’t be making these again.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2013 6:10 am

    Glad to hear your assessment. I was excited to try it at first :).

    • January 25, 2013 9:54 am

      Yeah. I’ve seen other recipes which I think would work better, but I doubt I’ll try them for awhile.

  2. January 26, 2013 10:58 am

    Most recipes include a final step of coating them in honey or maple syrup after baking…. It helps a lot with flavor!

    • January 26, 2013 11:29 am

      I’m sure it does. I’ve also seen coating them in oil before baking, which also helps.

      • January 26, 2013 1:42 pm

        Oh, another great point – I changed from oil to butter – better flavor!

Leave a Reply

