Skip to content

Book Review: Don’t Kill the Birthday Girl

February 13, 2013

Dont-Kill-the-Birthday-Girl-coverI got the memoir Don’t Kill the Birthday Girl for my birthday last year, and finally got around to reading it recently. I found it very insightful, seeing what goes on inside the head of someone with allergies, and the huge desire to just be normal, and not want to make a big deal out of things for everyone else. It makes me feel bad for what Joseph has ahead of himself if he doesn’t grow out of his allergies, although I have more resources than Beasley’s mother did to help him cope.

I also liked the philosophizing she did on peanut allergies and the school bans on peanuts (which I agree with), and the information on what research is going on with allergies today. I agree with her that there are problems with the hygiene hypothesis, and while I was a bit disheartened at seeing how far away desensitization treatments are, it was good to get that critical view of it.

What I enjoyed most, though, was her look at food and its role in society. Something that the rest of us just take for granted. It’s amazing when you consider how food is everywhere, and there are all these rituals involved with food, including birthdays, weddings, and more. She has a style that helps you appreciate it, while not asking for a pity party when she can’t participate. She just says it like it is.

Overall, I give it 5 out of 5 stars.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

