Skip to content

Brownies Trial: Gluten-free, Nut-free

February 22, 2013

I’m not sure exactly why I wanted to make brownies this week. Maybe its because I felt bad that I didn’t have any Valentine’s chocolate for Joseph. Either way, it leapt from the page as I was browsing through Gluten-Free Baking Classics so I had to make it.

The Changes

Note, this recipe is NOT dairy-free. This was my first time baking with real butter for Joseph to see how well he could tolerate it. The only change I made to the recipe was to use Enjoy Life Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips instead of 2 oz unsweetened and 4 oz semi-sweet chocolate.

GF flour, salt, sugar, vanilla, baking powder, xanthan gum, butter, eggs, chocolate chips

The Method

In a small bowl, mix together flour, xanthan gum, salt, and baking powder. In a medium-size sauce pan, melt butter and chocolate chips together. Remove from heat and whisk in sugar and vanilla. Add eggs to the chocolate mixture one at a time, whisking vigorously after each. I was paranoid here that the chocolate would be hot enough to start cooking the egg, so I made sure to whisk it right away, but apparently I took long enough measuring out the sugar (since I had to refill my canister) that it had cooled down enough that it wasn’t a problem. After the eggs are in, the batter should be smooth and glossy.

brownie 004

Add the flour mixture and whisk until incorporated. Pour batter into a foil lined and greased pan. (The finished brownies stick pretty well to the foil, so this makes it much cleaner to get the baked goods out instead of mangling the brownies as you scrape them).

brownie 005

Bake at 325 degrees F for 45 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out with wet crumbs.

brownie 006

Cool completely and serve.

brownie 007

Brownies

Adapted from Gluten-Free Baking Classics

Gluten-free, Nut-free

Ingredients

Prepare an 8″ x 8″ pan by lining it with foil, and then spraying the foil with cooking spray.

In a bowl, combine gluten-free flour, salt, baking powder, and xanthan gum. Set aside.

In a medium-size saucepan, melt butter and chocolate chips together. Remove from heat. Whisk in sugar and vanilla. One at a time, whisk in eggs. Continue whisking until mixture is completely smooth and glossy. Add flour mixture and whisk until incorporated.

Pour batter into prepared pan. Bake for 45 minutes at 325 degrees F or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out with wet crumbs. Cool in pan for 5 minutes, then lift out the foil for the brownies to cool completely on a rack. Cut and serve.

Makes 9-16 brownies.

What I Thought

These brownies turned out grainy. Also, the taste was off, like they should have been richer. I suspect the best fix would have been to use a bit of additional cocoa powder, or unsweetened chocolate chunks. I cut my pan into 9 brownies, because I like mine big. Unfortunately, my daughter only ate half of her brownie, though Joseph ate almost all of his without any reaction to the butter (hooray!)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

