Skip to content

A is for Apple Salad Trial: Dairy-free, Gluten-free, Nut-free

March 8, 2013
tags: , ,
Apple salad

This week we had a family get together, and I was asked to bring a fruit salad. So I went searching for a recipe that met the following two conditions: 1, had ingredients easily obtained during winter and 2, was dairy-free. I didn’t have to go too far before I found A is for Apple Salad from Taste of Home. Unfortunately, just as I was about to make this recipe, I realized that I had left my camera at my brother-in-law’s house, and so there are no in progress pictures.

The Changes

This recipe is already Joseph-safe. The only change I made was to not halve the grapes, because that’s a lot of work, and I was low on time. Also, I thought bigger chunks of pineapple was better than tidbits.

Taken with my awful webcam due to lack of camera.

Taken with my awful webcam due to lack of camera.

The Method

To make the dressing, combine orange juice, sugar, and cornstarch in a medium-size saucepan. When smooth, bring to a boil over medium heat, and cook for 2 minutes, or until thickened. Stir in orange extract. Set aside to cool.

In a large serving bowl, combine grapes, oranges, pineapple, and apples. Add dressing, and toss until everything is coated. Cover and refrigerate until serving.

Apple salad

A is for Apple Salad

Adapted from Taste of Home

Dairy-free, Gluten-free, Nut-free

Ingredients

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup cornstarch
  • 2 1/2 cups orange juice
  • 1 teaspoon orange extract
  • 2 cans (20 ounces) pineapple chunks, drained
  • 2 cans (11 ounces) mandarin oranges, drained
  • 2 tart green apples, chopped
  • 2 red apples, chopped
  • 2 cups each red and green grapes

To make the dressing, in a medium sized saucepan, combine sugar, cornstarch, and orange juice. Stir until smooth. Heat over medium heat until boiling. Cook for 2 minutes, or until thickened. Set aside to cool.

In a large bowl, combine pineapple, oranges, apples, and grapes. Add dressing. Stir gently to coat everything. Cover and chill until serving.

Makes 12 servings


cover copy copy

This recipe is featured in my cookbook The Best of the Rice of Life: Over 70 Gluten-free, Dairy-free, and Nut-free Recipes available now in print (Amazon, Create Space) and e-book (Kindle, iBooks, nook, Kobo and Smashwords).


What I Thought

I quite liked this salad. I like all the fruits, and the dressing was sweet and flavorful. Everyone seemed to enjoy it in our family. Joseph only wanted to eat grapes though. My daughter didn’t touch it, though she had very little appetite all day. Leftovers hold up well, too. I’d do this again.

Shared on Slightly Indulgent Tuesday, Gluten-free Wednesday and Allergy-free Wednesday

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2013 4:54 am

    This would be really good for a summer pot luck. Visiting from Slightly Indulgent Tuesday.

Trackbacks

  1. Second Year Favorites | The Rice of Life

Leave a Reply

