Skip to content

Peach Cobbler Trial: Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free

March 29, 2013
tags: , ,

This week, I needed to bring a dessert to a family dinner, and I’ve been needing some fruit after all the birthday celebrations we had. So, I decided to make a peach cobbler from Yummy Allergen Free

The Changes

This recipe is already Joseph safe, so I didn’t have to make any changes. However, I was astounded at the baking time – 1 to 1.5 hours. I didn’t have that much time, so I thought to see how it would do with a shorter time.

salt, coconut milk, sugar, GF flour, peaches, Earth Balance, baking powder, cinnamon, baking soda

The Method

While oven is preheating, melt the dairy-free butter in a 9″ x 13″ pan.

peach cobbler 003

Meanwhile, mix all other ingredients except peaches in a bowl.

peach cobbler 002

Layer half the batter in the pan with the butter, add the peaches, and then pour the rest of the batter on top. Then stand back and wonder why you even bothered with layering.

peach cobbler 005

I baked mine at 350 degrees F for half an hour, until it was browning on top.

peach cobbler 006

Looking back at the recipe, I guess it was supposed to go until the batter had risen completely over the peaches. Ah well. Still seems odd to me that it would continue to rise in the next half hour, but then again, I’m used to making peach cobbler by dumping a bag of yellow cake mix on top of peaches, pouring melted butter over the whole thing, and then baking for half an hour.

peach cobbler 007

Peach Cobbler

Adapted from Yummy Allergen Free

Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup dairy-free margarine
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 1 cup brown rice flour blend
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • pinch baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 2 15 oz cans sliced peaches, drained

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Put margarine in a 9″ x 13″ pan, and stick it in the preheating oven to melt. Meanwhile, combine sugar, milk, flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, and cinnamon until smooth. Pour half the batter into the pan with the margarine, then add the peaches, then add the rest of the batter (or just dump it all in together, and you’ll probably get similar results).

Bake for 30 minutes (or longer if you’re following the original recipe) until browned on top, and the batter covers the peaches.

Makes about 9 servings

What I Thought

The main consensus at the family dinner was that it tasted good, but the texture left a lot to be desired. We expected something more crisp. This was more like tapioca pudding. It probably would have dried out more had I left it in for longer, but that seems like overkill to me. If I were redoing this recipe, I would decrease the amount of milk used. Still, it’s worth tweaking.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2013 12:07 pm

    If you do perfect it please let me know, I would love to have an updated version. Mine was a little more crisp on the edges, but still slightly tapioca like in the center. I had to leave a comment because one thing in your post made me laugh and I had to respond…”Then stand back and wonder why you even bothered with layering”. The simple (rediculous as it may be) answer…because that’s how my aunt did it. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Your Favorite Recipes for 2013 | The Rice of Life

Leave a Reply

