Skip to content

Banana Cake Trial: Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free

April 26, 2013
tags: , ,

When I got married, I was given a cookbook that my great-grandfather (Grampy) had given my great-grandmother (Grammy). This week, Grampy joined his sweetheart in heaven. So, in honor of him, I decided to bake a cake based on a recipe from that book. No matter how full he was, dessert always made its way into Grampy’s stomach.

The Changes

Swapped GF flour for the all-purpose flour (and just now as I am typing this up, I realized that I totally forgot the xanthan gum), shortening for the butter and coconut milk and lemon juice for the buttermilk. I also omitted the nuts.

banana cake 01

The Method

I really liked how easy this recipe was. Dump everything in a mixing bowl. Beat on low speed until the flour is no longer in danger of flying out (30 seconds), and then beat on high speed for a minute or so, until the batter is well mixed.

banana cake 02

Pour into a greased 9″ x 13″ pan and bake at 350 degrees F for 45 minutes, until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Let cool, serve and enjoy.

banana cake 04

Banana Cake

Adapted from Betty Crocker’s New Cookbook

Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free

Ingredients

  • 2 1/2 cups brown rice flour blend
  • 1 1/2 cups mashed ripe bananas (3 medium)
  • 1 1/4 cups sugar
  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 eggs

Dump all ingredients into a mixing bowl. Beat on low speed for 30 seconds, or until flour will no longer fly out of the bowl. Turn up to high speed for 1-3 minutes, until batter is well mixed.

Pour batter into a greased 9″x13″ pan and bake at 350 degrees F for 45 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Let cool, and serve.

Makes 16 servings

What I Thought

I had my first piece warm, and it was pretty crumbly due to the lack of xanthan gum. The taste was still nice, and the piece I had later when it was cool held together pretty well. Also, there was less crunch/gritty texture in the edges when it had cooled down too. My daughter was disappointed when I didn’t frost it, and didn’t touch her piece (She probably would have only eaten the frosting had I frosted it). Joseph ate his entire piece, minus several crumbs, after reminders to keep coming back. He was excited for it while it was baking, so I’m glad he liked it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

