Skip to content

This Year’s Garden

May 8, 2013

quesadillas 010I’ve seen some allergy blogs talk about how they love to grow their own food so they know where its all been, and they can be sure its safe. And I think “great for you! But I have a black thumb.” Still, that doesn’t stop me from trying to grow something. This year’s garden death row consists of a single strawberry plant, pictured here.

The last time I tried to grow strawberries, we never harvested anything because I never covered it with netting and the birds got to the berries first. Last year, I discovered that our soil is too sandy to just plop plants into and expect them to thrive. So, this year, I got a container and netting for my strawberry plant.

My kids were excited to help plant it, and love going out to water it. After a few days in the sun, the leaves have really perked up. So, we’ll see if I manage to need to create strawberry recipes this summer with the results, or if my black thumb was just too much.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2013 4:49 am

    Me too. I’d love a great garden, but I haven yet to achieve it. Good luck.

Trackbacks

  1. Gardening Success | The Rice of Life

Leave a Reply

