Skip to content

Thoughts on Food Allergy Awareness

May 15, 2013

This week (May 12-18) is Food Allergy Awareness Week. So I’ve been thinking about how we have benefitted from increased awareness, and what hopes we have for the future.

I don’t think I have ever had anybody doubt me when I talk about Joseph’s allergies. Or at least if they did, they kept it inside. I hear all these stories about friends and family not understanding, so I am grateful to be blessed to be around people who are aware that food allergies are a real thing that need to be taken seriously.

I have learned that I can’t, and shouldn’t, expect people to cater to Joseph’s allergies, though. If we are at an event where they are serving food for regular people, it is just an extra hassle to expect them to either cut wheat and dairy from everybody, or to provide Joseph his own special thing. So we just make sure we always have snacks to him. And if people do provide for him, then we are grateful.

Due to the increase in awareness, Joseph was born just as all these companies started to create foods to cater to people like him, for which I am forever grateful. It’s made my job easier as a parent to not only provide enough food for him, but make that food look like what the rest of us eat. And in many cases, we’ve been willing to eat it with him.

I am afraid for school. No matter how many assemblies there are, I find it hard to believe that bullying will be completely stomped out. However, I do hope that with Joseph’s friendly personality, he’ll be able to make several friends who will look out for him and defend him.

What are your thoughts?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. colleenmoore0301 permalink
    May 15, 2013 4:13 am

    I think you’re a Mama Bear who takes excellent care if your baby cub nutritionally, and you can take excellent care if him educationally as well. Homeschool him! I PROMISE it will not have an ill effect on him or you! My Sweet 16 yo daughter has been homeschooled since Kindergarten…she just finished 10th grade on Thursday and started dual enrollment at the community college last night. She made a couple of friends AND evangelized to someone all before her first class. Oh! and she took out a non-fiction book from the campus library about someone’s account of the World Wars. Does it sound like homeschooling has had a negative effect? I didn’t even go to college and she’s starting at 16!

    All that to say…you’re laying down your life to give your son what his body needs…don’t let ANYONE tell you that what his heart and mind needs is someone better than you. THERE IS NO BETTER TEACHER FOR HIM THAN YOU!!!

    ::steps off soapbox::

    I’m sorry to be so wishy washy about my opinion. šŸ˜‰

    • May 15, 2013 11:47 am

      Thanks for your thoughts. I know that homeschooling works for many people, but its not for me. While I had my own frustrations when I went to public school, I learned valuable things from people I would never have met otherwise. Also, I am too much of a hermit to adequately address social skills at home.

      That’s not to say that I wouldn’t homeschool if things got too bad. But I’ll give public school a try first.

Leave a Reply

