Skip to content

Gnocchi Trial: Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free

May 17, 2013
tags: , ,

My husband served a mission for two years in Chile. He’s asked me to make a couple dishes he sampled there, and most recently, his request was for gnocchi. So I dug through recipes I saved to pull out an article done in the BYU Universe when I was in college about how to make gnocchi.

The changes
I substituted GF flour 1:1 with regular flour. And I decided not to go with any added xanthan gum.

gnocchi 01

The Method

Boil potatoes whole and unpeeled until tender. (This seems like it’s due to tradition, but in the future, I’d at least cut them in half for quicker cooking). Cool potatoes, then peel and smash with a fork.

gnocchi 02

Add flour, egg, salt, and olive oil and mix by hand until it comes together in a non-sticky dough.

gnocchi 03

Roll into several long strips and cut into individual pieces. I cut mine 1″ long, but my husband says that he was used to them being smaller. Then roll each piece over the tines of a fork to impress a pattern.

gnocchi 04

Drop the pieces into a pot of boiling water. When the pasta starts to float (about 1-2 minutes) remove to a plate with a slotted spoon.

gnocchi 05

Serve with your choice of sauce.

Gnocchi

Adapted from Scott Merrell

Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free

Ingredients

Boil potatoes until tender. Let cool, then peel and smash with a fork. Add flour, egg, salt, and oil, and mix by hand until it comes together into a soft, non-sticky dough.

Roll the dough into several long strips and cut strips into individual pieces. Roll each piece over the tines of a fork to impress a pattern.

Drop pieces into a pot of boiling water. After 1-2 minutes, the dough will rise. Remove with a slotted spoon to a serving plate. Serve with choice of sauce.

Makes 6 servings


cover copy copy

This recipe is featured in my cookbook The Best of the Rice of Life: Over 70 Gluten-free, Dairy-free, and Nut-free Recipes available now in print (Amazon, Create Space) and e-book (Kindle, iBooks, nook, Kobo and Smashwords).


What I Thought

Using a potato ricer would have been so much easier, but I don’t own one. So, my potatoes ended up with several large lumps after smashing, especially from the large potatoes that didn’t get fully cooked to the center. I also found them to be lacking in flavor, especially salt. I served them with spaghetti sauce covered chicken on the side, and it just wasn’t right. They were much better the next day when I cooked the leftovers in butter and Italian seasoning. A white sauce also would have been preferable, according to my husband. The kids only ate theirs after much persuasion, Joseph less than my daughter. My husband will probably still want me to perfect these, time consuming though they are.

Shared on Gluten-free Wednesday and Allergy-free Wednesday

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2013 7:18 am

    Time consuming indeed! I don’t know if it would work with gluten-free flour (can’t imagine why not?), but if I ever make gnocchi, I go for a double-batch then freeze half (first on a cookie sheet, so they freeze individually, then tossed into a zip-top bag). They can go straight from freezer to boiling water.

    • May 17, 2013 8:32 am

      I think the only difference the gluten-free flour made was that it was more fragile when rolling out the dough. So, yeah, freezing sounds like a viable option.

  2. Cindy permalink
    December 18, 2013 8:55 am

    I have been making gnocchi for forever it seems. First regular then later gf. I find that the best way to make them is to use real mashed potatoes,, you know, the kind you use as a side with chicken? I make them with butter, salt, pepper, and milk. Usually I make a large pot of potatoes for a meal then refrigerate the leftovers. The next day or so (I’ve even frozen the potatoes for use later) I use it as the basis for the gnocchi. I use 1 cup mashed potatoes, 1 egg, and then 1 cup flour plus as needed to make a soft dough. They are so tasty and not lacking as many are that use just potato.

    • December 18, 2013 9:55 am

      Thanks for the tip. I wonder how it would work with dairy-free milks. I’ve not really found any recipes for dairy-free mashed potatoes that I like.

      • Cindy permalink
        December 19, 2013 9:33 am

        My daughter-in-law has lactose intolerance so when she is here for mashed potatoes, we use some of the water that we cooked the potatoes in in place of the milk. Usually I use enough water to barely cover the potatoes when I cook them so the water is a bit more starchy than normal. I think the idea is that if the mashed potatoes taste great then the gnocchi will also.

Leave a Reply

