Skip to content

Minestrone Trial: Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free

May 24, 2013
tags: , ,

This week, the rain has come back to the Seattle area, so I was wanting some soup. Then surprisingly, my husband said he’d been eating so much meat lately that he wanted a meatless meal. (Really? Has my husband been replaced by aliens?) Anyway, I decided to go with minestrone from the Better Homes And Gardens cookbook I got when I was single in college.

The Changes

This recipe was already mostly Joseph-safe. I just had to use gluten-free noodles. The only other changes I made were to accommodate what I had in my pantry instead of running to the store.

minestrone 044

The Method

A bonus is that this recipe is quick and easy. Just dump everything into a dutch oven, bring to a boil, and then simmer until carrots are tender.

minestrone 048

Minestrone

Adapted from Better Homes And Gardens

Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free

Ingredients

  • 3 14 ounce cans beef broth
  • 1 15 ounce can red kidney beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 15 ounce can garbanzo beans (chickpeas), rinsed and drained
  • 1 14 1/2 ounce can diced tomatoes in Italian seasoning
  • 1 11 1/2 ounce can vegetable juice
  • 2 teaspoons sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon Italian seasoning
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup each frozen peas and corn
  • 4 carrots, peeled and chopped.
  • 1 cup gluten-free shell pasta

Dump all ingredients into a dutch oven, or other large pot. Bring to a boil. Reduce to a simmer and cover until vegetables and pasta are tender (about 15 minutes).

Makes 6 servings

What I Thought

We quite liked the soup, and I was well pleased with how well the corn-quinoa pasta held up. We also had the missionaries over for dinner, and they enjoyed it. My kids only picked at the pasta though.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

