Skip to content

Chocolate Coconut Milkshake Trial: Dairy-free, Gluten-free, Nut-free

May 31, 2013
tags: , ,

I recently saw Gluten Free Easily’s recipe for a dairy-free chocolate milkshake and have been wanting to make one ever since. So this week I whipped up a batch.

The Changes

I actually changed a fair amount in this recipe. Instead of measuring the coconut milk, I just used the entire can. And I omitted the dates because we don’t have them normally, and omitted the almond butter, since Joseph is allergic.

coconut milk, bananas, and cocoa powder

The Method

Put all ingredients in a blender and mix until smooth. Taste, and add sugar as desired. Pour and serve immediately.

milkshake 03

Chocolate Coconut Milkshake

Adapted from Gluten-free Easily

Dairy-free, Gluten-free, Nut-free

Ingredients

  • 1 13.6 ounce can coconut milk
  • 2 ripe frozen bananas
  • 2 Tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 1 cup water
  • 1/4 cup sugar

Put all ingredients in a blender, and puree until smooth.

Makes 3 servings

What I Thought

This shake had a nice mouth-feel, but I felt the taste was a bit too rich. My husband thought the coconut taste was too strong, but he gladly had seconds. My kids said they liked it, but they were extremely slow in eating. Perhaps they were just having more fun playing with the straws. If I were to redo it, I’d experiment with using So Delicious coconut milk, or ice-cream.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

