Skip to content

Strawberry-Rhubarb Crisp Trial: Gluten-free, Nut-free

June 7, 2013
tags: ,

My favorite fruit pie is strawberry rhubarb, so I had been planning on attempting to make a Joseph-safe one this summer, much as I am daunted by the thought of making pies. Then I spotted a gluten-free recipe for strawberry-rhubarb crisp at Hope’s Kitchen and I knew that I had a much better chance of that turning out than a pie. So, that’s what I made this week.

The Changes

Since Joseph is tolerating baked milk, I left the butter as-is in the recipe. The rest of it was already safe for him. I just cut it in half since I was only feeding four people. Although I didn’t take care to get GF oats, since Joseph has such a small reaction to it.

cornstarch, sugar, oats, brown sugar, GF flour, strawberries, orange zest, butter, cinnamon, rhubarb

The Method

Combine rhubarb, strawberries, cornstarch, sugar, orange zest, and cinnamon in a bowl until fruit is well coated. Pour into a greased 8″ x 8″ pan.

strawberry rhubarb crisp 02

In another bowl, stir together GF flour, oats, brown sugar, cinnamon, and salt. Cut in the butter with a pastry cutter or two knives until the topping resembles pea-sized crumbs. Spread topping over fruit.

strawberry rhubarb crisp 04

Bake at 375 degrees F for 40 minutes, or until crisp is bubbly. Let sit for 20 minutes before serving.

strawberry rhubarb crisp: Gluten-free, Nut-free

Strawberry-Rhubarb Crisp

Adapted from Cooking Light

Gluten-free, Nut-free

Filling:

  • 3 cups rhubarb, sliced
  • 1 1/4 cups strawberries, halved
  • 3/8 cup sugar
  • 1 1/2 Tablespoon cornstarch
  • 1/4 teaspoon orange zest
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

Topping:

  • 1/3 cup brown rice flour blend
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup oats
  • 1/8 teaspoon cinnamon
  • dash of salt
  • 3 Tablespoons butter, chilled

In a bowl, combine ingredients for filling (rhubarb, strawberries, sugar, cornstarch, orange zest, and cinnamon) and stir until fruit is well coated. Pour into a greased 8″ x 8″ pan.

In another bowl, combine topping ingredients except for butter (brown rice flour, brown sugar, oats, cinnamon, and salt). Cut in butter until the topping resembles pea-sized crumbs. Pour topping over filling.

Bake at 375 degrees F for 40 minutes, until crisp is bubbly. Let cool for at least 20 minutes before serving.

Makes 4-5 servings


cover copy copy

This recipe (made dairy-free) is featured in my cookbook The Best of the Rice of Life: Over 70 Gluten-free, Dairy-free, and Nut-free Recipes available now in print (Amazon, Create Space) and e-book (Kindle, iBooks, nook, Kobo and Smashwords).


What I Thought

This was tarter than I expected, but I shouldn’t have been that surprised due to the amount of rhubarb. I quite liked it, and happily had some for breakfast the next morning. My husband called it “soupy but good.” Sadly, the kids only picked at the topping. Ah well, more for me!

Shared on Allergy-free Wednesday and Gluten-free Wednesday

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

