Skip to content

Lemony Corn and Quinoa Salad Trial: Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free

June 28, 2013
tags: , ,

I first saw the recipe for this quinoa salad in FredMeyer’s weekly mailer. It looked good so I kept it in the back of my mind to try out sometime. Turns out, “sometime” was this week.

The Changes

I used the amounts more like “guidelines” than rules in this recipe. Originally, it seemed to call for too much green onion, mint, and corn. So I eyeballed it and went by taste. Amounts given are my amounts.

quinoa, lemon, olive oil, green onion, mint, corn

The Method

Cook quinoa (bring 1 cup quinoa and 2 cups water to boiling in a covered pan. Reduce heat and simmer 15 minutes, or until all water is absorbed) and corn (bring pot of water to boiling. Add corn. Return water to boiling, then drain). In a large bowl, mix together corn, oil, lemon zest, lemon juice, mint, and green onions. Add quinoa and stir until well mixed. Add salt and pepper to taste

lemony quinoa 02

Lemony Corn and Quinoa Salad

Adapted from Leigh Ann

Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free

Ingredients

  • 1 cup uncooked quinoa
  • 2 cups frozen corn
  • 1/2 cup green onion, diced
  • 1/2 cup mint, minced
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon lemon zest
  • salt and pepper to taste

Cook quinoa and corn in separate pots, as directed. In a large bowl, combine corn, green onion, mint, lemon juice, olive oil, and lemon zest. Add quinoa, and stir until well mixed. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Makes 4-5 servings

What I Thought

I was really disappointed in this dish. Seemed a bit bitter/sour to me. I would guess it didn’t even need the zest. Adding sugar made it palatable, though that made it odd, since I was expecting a more savory dish. I probably wouldn’t do the green onion in the future either, because I’m not a fan (though that may be me not preparing them right). The texture of the corn also was a bit odd too, mixed with the softness of the quinoa. My kids refused to touch it, and my husband also expressed his disappointment. I’m eating the leftovers, but won’t do this again.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

