Skip to content

Zucchini Chips Trial: Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free

July 12, 2013

I still consider myself to have a black thumb, however, this week I hit a first with my garden – I harvested my first homegrown produce! I am amazed at how well my zucchini thrived this year! Amazing how plants grow when you actually water them and give them the right soil. 🙂 We’ve made zucchini bread which Joseph loves, but I wanted to try something else new this week – and zucchini chips from Table for Two looked easy enough to try.

The Changes

This recipe was already Joseph safe. However, about the color of the zucchini–I didn’t realize until a week after I planted my zucchini plants that I’d gotten “golden zucchini” instead of regular zucchini. And I always thought those were “summer squash.” Taste just the same though.

zucchini chips 01

The Method

I don’t have a mandolin, so I sliced my zucchini with the side of my cheese grater. Place the sliced zucchini between paper towels for a couple minutes to pull out the moisture.

zucchini chips 02

Place zucchini slices on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet, brush with oil and sprinkle with salt. Bake at 225 degrees F for 2 hours. Or at least that’s what the instructions say. I should have checked on mine earlier…

zucchini chips 03

Zucchini Chips

Adapted from Table for Two

Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free

Ingredients

  • 1 medium zucchini
  • 2 Tablespoons olive oil
  • salt

Slice zucchini into thin slices. Put slices between two paper towels for a couple minutes to draw out the moisture. Place slices on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet and brush with olive oil and sprinkle with salt. Bake at 225 degrees for 2 hours, checking occasionally to make sure they’re not overdone.

What I Thought

Obviously, mine were sliced way too thin, or my oven is just that much hotter than ovens. These had a burnt taste to them, and I’ll probably end up throwing away the whole batch. I might be interested in trying again, but more likely, I’ll just do other recipes.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

