Skip to content

Thai Chicken Spaghetti Trial: Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free

September 6, 2013
tags: , ,

My sunflowers are blooming! These are the first plants I’ve grown from seed to actually make it to this point! That’s actually not why I decided to make a recipe with sunbutter to post today, but I couldn’t help thinking about it as I looked at my sunflowers out my window as I bustled around my kitchen. Hooray for a raised bed being able to defeat my black thumb!

Anyway, I first made Thai Chicken Fettuccine from Taste of Home back in 2008 and found it nice and easy, though it definitely didn’t taste like authentic Thai food. So I thought it would be good to attempt to make Joseph-safe.

The Changes

I used corn-quinoa spaghetti instead of fettuccine since that’s the kind of gluten-free pasta I had. I also substituted sunbutter 1:1 for the peanut butter. I also omitted the cilantro and red pepper since we didn’t have any.

thai chicken pasta 01

The Method

Cook pasta according to package directions. Cut the chicken into strips and saute in oil. Combine all the rest of the ingredients in a microwave-safe bowl. Puree sauce if you desire it to be smooth, like mine.

thai chicken pasta 02

Taste, and add extra honey if desired (I did).

Drain pasta. Pour sauce over pasta and toss to coat. Serve with chicken.

thai chicken pasta 03

Thai Chicken Spaghetti

Adapted from Taste of Home

Gluten-free, Nut-free, Dairy-free

Ingredients

  • 8 oz gluten-free spaghetti
  • 1 pound chicken, cut into strips
  • 1 Tablespoon canola oil
  • 1 cup salsa
  • 1/4 cup sunbutter
  • 2 Tablespoons orange juice
  • 2 Tablespoons honey
  • 1 teaspoon soy sauce

Cook pasta according to package directions. Saute the chicken in oil. Combine salsa, sunbutter, orange juice, honey, and soy sauce in a microwave safe bowl. Puree until smooth (if you don’t have an immersion blender, puree in a stand blender, then transfer into a bowl). Microwave sauce for 1 minute on high.

Drain pasta. Pour sauce over pasta, then toss to coat. Serve with chicken.

Makes 4 servings

What I Thought

This tasted mostly like how I remembered it. Once I got over how it was still not real Thai food, I enjoyed it, and so did my husband. My daughter refused to eat it because “it’s too spicy” (it really wasn’t). Joseph was bribed to eat a few bites, but showed no interest in finishing it. Ah well.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

