Skip to content

Immune Systems are Complex

September 18, 2013

The more I learn about research and theories about allergies, the more I realize that when our immune systems break, we really have no idea what is going on. I’ve never taken much stock in the hygiene hypothesis for the rise of allergies. I do not keep my house spick and span. I should do better about getting my kids to wash and sanitize their hands. And I took Joseph out in public fairly soon after his birth. Didn’t stop him from developing allergies.

And then there’s the idea that breastfeeding should prevent allergies. Except Joseph was allergic to my breastmilk.

And now, I have been diagnosed with ITP (immune thrombocytopenia purpura) which means that my immune system is attacking my platelets (part of my blood that is involved in clotting) The hematologist has no idea what caused this. Thankfully, it won’t effect the baby’s health that’s coming next month. However, it does mean that I am on steroids to boost my platelet count in preparation for delivery. The side-effects are wiping me out. I had planned to keep blogging and trying new recipes right up until delivery, but I may need to start my “maternity leave” on that early.

I am grateful for how far we have come scientifically, that Joseph has things that can help him live day to day and the doctors are planning for every contingency for me. I look forward to more research being done in the future.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

