Skip to content

Bean and Pork Chop Bake Trial: Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free

October 4, 2013
tags: , ,

My husband got in the mood for some pork and beans, so I went hunting for a recipe to appease him. While he was thinking more along the lines of chunks of meat rather than pork chops, the Bean and Pork Chop Bake from Taste of Home fit the bill for him well. And it was a nice warming meal for the rainy days that have settled over Seattle once again.

The Changes

This recipe is already Joseph-safe. I did omit the raisins, since no one in our family seems to care for them. I also had more beans than called for, since I wasn’t paying attention when I wrote my grocery list. 🙂

pork and bean bake 001

The Method

My husband prefers thin meats, so I sliced two of the pictured pork chops in half for this recipe. Brown pork chops on both sides in a large skillet in oil. Remove and keep warm.

pork and bean bake 003

Saute apples and onions in the drippings left from the pork chops until tender.

pork and bean bake 002

Stir in beans, and 1/8 teaspoon cinnamon. Heat through.

pork and bean bake 004

Transfer bean mixture into a 2 1/2 quart baking dish (I used my 8″ x 8″ pan) and top with pork chops.

pork and bean bake 005

Cover and bake at 350 degrees F for 40 minutes. Brush the top of the meat with maple syrup and sprinkle with remaining cinnamon and salt. Return to the oven, uncovered for about 5 minutes. Serve with cornbread.

pork and bean bake 006

Bean and Pork Chop Bake

Adapted from Taste of Home

Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free

Ingredients

  • 4 pork chops
  • 1 Tablespoon canola oil
  • 1 large tart apple, peeled and chopped
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 2 16 ounce cans baked beans
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon, divided
  • 1 tablespoon maple syrup
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

Brown both sides of pork chops in oil. Remove and keep warm.

Saute apple and onion in drippings from the pork chops until tender. Add beans and 1/8 teaspoon cinnamon. Heat through. Transfer bean mixture to a 8″ x 8″ dish. Top with pork chops. Cover with foil and bake at 350 degrees F for 40 minutes.

Brush tops of pork chops with syrup and sprinkle with remaining cinnamon and salt. Return to oven, uncovered, for 5 minutes.

Makes 4 servings


cover copy copy

This recipe is featured in my cookbook The Best of the Rice of Life: Over 70 Gluten-free, Dairy-free, and Nut-free Recipes available now in print (Amazon, Create Space) and e-book (Kindle, iBooks, nook, Kobo and Smashwords).


What I Thought

This is quite nice comfort food. It took me awhile to get used to the taste, since I kept expecting a more brown sugar/spicy taste. The pork was SOOO tender. I loved it! The kids ate the meat with only a bit of prodding away from the cornbread. They didn’t touch the beans though. Not only would I do this again, but I would consider making it for a friend who needed a meal.

Shared on Gluten-free Wednesday and Allergy-free Wednesday

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

