Skip to content

Trials and Preparation

October 9, 2013

Provo-Tabernacle-fireA week and a half ago, I listened to a broadcast by the leaders of the women’s organization in our church. The story that caught my attention the most was about the Provo Tabernacle. About three years ago, a fire gutted the interior of this historic building. Community and church members mourned its loss.

Could the Lord have prevented this destruction? Absolutely. But He chose not to. And ten months later, President Monson announced that the tabernacle would be rebuilt as a temple for church members to worship in.

So it is with our lives. Could Heavenly Father take away all our trials, heal us of all our afflictions? Of course He can. But just because He chooses not to doesn’t mean we don’t have enough faith. Sometimes He has a higher purpose involved with our suffering. As He says in Doctrine and Covenants 58:3-4

Ye cannot behold with your natural eyes, for the present time, the design of your God concerning those things which shall come hereafter, and the glory which shall follow after much tribulation.

For after much tribulation come the blessings. Wherefore the day cometh that ye shall be crowned with much glory.

I don’t know the meaning of all things. I don’t know why Joseph has allergies, or why this pregnancy is giving me health problems. But I do know that I have a loving Father in Heaven who stands by to help me endure it. And I trust that His plan for me and my family will help me become the best person I can be to be an influence for good in this world. And the same is true of you and your struggles, for I know that the Lord loves you just as much as He loves me.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

