Skip to content

Simple-cook, Allergy-friendly Staples

October 16, 2013

With baby #3 coming pretty much any time now, I don’t plan to cook much in the next few weeks. I have friends who will probably bring a few meals, and my mom is coming to help for a week, and my husband gets 2 weeks paternity leave. However, the biggest conundrum is how to get Joseph food he can eat? I’m not going to ask my friends to remember him when they bring meals (though I would appreciate the thought) and my husband’s cooking skills are limited to what comes out of a box.

So, I have been gathering some allergy-friendly foods in our pantry and freezer that my husband can put together for Joseph. If this means he is eating foods completely different from us, so be it. Here is a small list of essentials.

  • Cereal (specifically Chex and Kix)
  • Apple juice
  • hot dogs
  • Ian’s fish sticks and chicken nuggets
  • French fries
  • Spaghetti
  • Pizza (Udi’s crust, Daiya cheese)
  • Snacks (chips, crackers, deli meat)
  • Applesauce
  • Grapes
  • Sorbet

I’ve also finally discovered a store-bought gluten-free bread that Joseph likes! Udi’s chia-millet bread happened to be in the baked yesterday cart, so I brought some home to try. Joseph loves it with melted Daiya on top.

I could probably make and then freeze meals, but its been hard at times just to get the energy to make the regular meals lately. I will probably make some Joseph-safe macaroni to freeze, since that is a staple of our easy meals.

What do you keep on hand for easy meals?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 17, 2013 7:23 am

    I’ve got number 4 arriving early march and i’m already worried about the meals!! I plan to make a list like you have. 🙂

    • October 17, 2013 3:39 pm

      Good luck to you! At least you’ve already been through it before, though not necessarily with the same allergies.

Leave a Reply

