Skip to content

Friend’s Meals For Our Allergic Family

December 11, 2013

By the time this posts, our baby will be over 7 weeks old. I feel like I’m still getting a handle on things. I love snuggling with my newborn and reading while he nurses. But that’s taking a big chunk out of my day, and I still have to handle dishes and laundry and feeding the other two kids and dealing with potty training. Stressful.

But I do want to give a shout-out to my friends who provided some meals the first two weeks after I gave birth. They were quite helpful, and I so so much appreciate that they all considered Joseph’s allergies, even though I said we’d be fine if they didn’t. So as inspiration, I wanted to share what they brought.

  • Quinoa salad made with pinto beans, corn, and green peppers, served with tortilla chips and strawberries.
  • Hawaiian haystacks with my recipe and Jello. Included real cheese for the rest of us.
  • Chicken teriyaki (with sauce separate), rice, salad, and apples
  • Soup with GF noodles, pork and beans, carrots, and celery. Bread and parmesan separate for the rest of us.
  • Swedish meatballs (with my recipe separate)
  • Brazilian pork, rice, broccoli, and sweet potatoes

I really liked the quinoa salad, and would like to replicate it. And I am surprised at myself for forgetting that Jello is a Joseph-safe dessert. Desserts are the hardest to find naturally gluten-free and dairy-free. So it’s too bad that my kids looked at the Jello like it was alien. I’d forgotten about gluten being in soy sauce, since I buy a gluten-free soy sauce which I use fairly often without thinking. So I’m glad my friend checked labels for me. I would have been fine with Joseph having the small amount that would have been present, but he preferred to have it plain.

I have my next few weeks posts planned, and since I have to cook anyway, I plan on starting up the First Try Friday posts again pretty quickly. The hardest part is just making the time to write them all up! Until next time.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Deborah Clark permalink
    December 11, 2013 5:12 am

    These were helpful as I have a gluten and soy allergen adult to cook for. The gelatin option is very helpful. We are trying various options having just added Quinoa to our diet. I made quinoa soup with beef broth, ground beef, onion and seasonings of choice to taste (organic, gluten/soy/dairy free broth). Also have tried Gluten Free Bisquik for biscuits which were also very good and Bob’s Mill pancake mix makes very good pancakes (made up mix night before, they turned out even better than when made immediately after mixing; have reheated leftovers, also very good).

    • December 11, 2013 11:32 am

      I’m glad these were helpful to you. I also love GF Bisquik, which I’ll use for pancakes and waffles. Best of luck to you! The hardest part is coming up with things night after night after night. 🙂

Leave a Reply

