Skip to content

Chocolate Orange Baked Oatmeal Trial: Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free

January 3, 2014
tags: , ,

I had TONS of oranges in the fridge in December, so I went looking for a recipe to use a few up. Then the Chocolate Clementine Baked Oatmeal from The Healthy Maven caught my eye. Now, my husband HATES oatmeal, but I thought he might like the fact that it was chocolate, and perhaps baking it would give it a different texture.

The Changes

I used coconut milk instead of almond milk, and used a real egg instead of a flax egg. Everything else was the same. Note, my oats aren’t certified gluten-free.

maple syrup, oats, coconut milk, orange juice, baking powde,r cocoa powder, clementine oranges, egg

The Method

Combine oats, baking powder, and cocoa

chocolate orange oatmeal 002

Add orange juice, coconut milk, and maple syrup. Stir to combine. Add in beaten egg.

chocolate orange oatmeal 003

Add in chopped clementine oranges and transfer to a 9″ cake pan. Bake at 350 degrees F for 40 minutes.

chocolate orange oatmeal 004

Cut into wedges and serve.

Chocolate Orange Baked Oatmeal

Adapted from The Healthy Maven

Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups rolled oats (certified gluten-free if necessary)
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 1/4 cup orange juice
  • 4 1/2 teaspoons maple syrup
  • 1 egg
  • 5 clementine oranges, peeled and chopped

In a large bowl, combine oats, cocoa powder, and baking powder. Add in coconut milk, orange juice, and maple syrup. Beat the egg, and stir it in. Chop the clementines and fold them in.

Transfer to a 9″ cake pan, and bake at 350 degrees F for 40 minutes.

Makes 4-6 servings

What I Thought

As I was making this, I was thinking about the milk chocolate oranges that I love to eat. The taste of this oatmeal was nowhere close. I should have realized that unsweetened cocoa powder with no sugar would be very bitter, which it was. I choked down two wedges, (the second with lots of sugar added) and wanted to throw the rest away. My husband gallantly ate some, and snacked on it for a couple days before he agreed to throw the rest away. Because I didn’t like it, I didn’t force it on the kids either.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

