Skip to content

Crustless Spinach Quiche Trial: Gluten-free, Nut-free

January 17, 2014
tags: ,

After making the Curried Turkey Soup, I had a bunch of spinach leftover, so I went looking for a recipe to use it. I was originally planning on making a salad, and then I caught sight of a Crustless Spinach Quiche on Allrecipes.com. I hate making pie crust, gluten-free or not, so this idea intrigued me.

The Changes

We’re experimenting with baked milk, so I kept all the cheese as is. Everything else is already Joseph-safe. And I used fresh spinach instead of frozen since that’s what I had.

spinach, salt, oil, pepper, eggs, onion, cheese

The Method

Saute onion in oil in a skillet until tender. Add spinach. Saute for a couple of minutes until wilted.

quiche 002

In a large bowl, whisk eggs together. Add cheese, salt, and pepper.

quiche 003

Add spinach mixture to egg mixture. Pour into a greased 9″ pie plate.

quiche 004

Bake at 350 degrees F for 30 minutes until eggs are set. Let cool for 10 minutes before cutting and serving.

quiche 005

Crustless Spinach Quiche

Adapted from Allrecipes.com

Gluten-free, Nut-free

Ingredients:

  • 1 Tablespoon canola oil
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 6 ounces fresh spinach, chopped
  • 5 eggs
  • 3 cups shredded Muenster cheese (1/2 pound)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon pepper

In a large skillet, saute onion in oil for a few minutes, until tender. Add spinach. Saute for another minute or two until spinach is wilted.

In a large bowl, whisk eggs together. Add cheese, salt and pepper, and mix until combined. Add spinach mixture. Stir until well mixed. Pour mixture into a greased 9″ pie plate. Bake at 350 degrees F for 30 minutes, until eggs are set.

Let cool for 10 minutes before cutting and serving.

Makes 4-6 servings

What I Thought

I quite liked the taste of this quiche, and was surprised with how well it held together without a crust. In fact, I didn’t even miss it. My husband agreed with me that it tasted good. My daughter and Joseph both only ate half of their pieces after a bit of prodding. I’d still do it again.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

