Skip to content

Chicken Curry Trial: Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free

January 24, 2014

I like looking through the best of recipe links on other blogs. That’s how I came across the Pakistani Kimi (Beef Curry) recipe from Whole New Mom. It looked good, so I decided to try it out this week.

The Changes

We’d had lots of beef recently, so I subbed chicken for the beef. I also cut down the amount of tomatoes, since we’re not that fond, and I didn’t want to deal with half a can. I also used garlic powder and didn’t use turmeric, because that’s what was in my pantry.

curry 001

The Method

In a large skillet, saute onion until tender. Add chicken and cook thoroughly. Stir in curry, salt, and spices.

curry 002

Add peas, tomatoes, and potatoes.

curry 003

Bring to a boil. Reduce heat, cover, and simmer for 20 minutes, until potatoes are tender. Serve with rice.

curry 004

Chicken Curry

Adapted from Whole New Mom

Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free

Ingredients

  • 2 Tablespoons canola oil
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 1 pound chicken, cubed
  • 1 1/2 Tablespoons curry powder
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/8 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/8 teaspoon ginger
  • 1 14 ounce can of diced tomatoes
  • 3 potatoes, peeled and diced
  • 2 1/2 cups peas

Saute onion in oil until tender. Add chicken and cook thoroughly. Add curry powder, salt, and spices and stir until chicken is coated. Add tomatoes, potatoes, and peas. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat, cover, and simmer for 20 minutes, until potatoes are tender. Serve with rice.

Makes 6 servings


cover copy copy

This recipe is featured in my cookbook The Best of the Rice of Life: Over 70 Gluten-free, Dairy-free, and Nut-free Recipes available now in print (Amazon, Create Space) and e-book (Kindle, iBooks, nook, Kobo and Smashwords).


What I Thought

This took longer to make than I thought it would. But I still quite liked the results. My husband would have liked it a bit “hotter” in flavor, but I like things mild. The kids were more interested in eating rice, but they could be persuaded to eat the chicken at least. I’m looking forward to eating the leftovers.

Shared on Gluten-free Wednesday and Allergy-free Wednesday

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jillian Hudson permalink
    January 26, 2015 12:37 pm

    This is a great recipe! I’d love it if you would share it on my new corn-free link party. http://www.creatingsilverlinings.com/corn-free-everyday-jan-25-15/

Leave a Reply

