Skip to content

Crescent Rolls: Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free

January 29, 2014
crescent rolls 007

Unlike my First-try Friday posts, this recipe was perfected until I liked it.

Both sides of our family love rolls for big holiday meals. I felt bad that Joseph wouldn’t be able to enjoy something similar, so I went searching for a recipe, only to be disappointed by the unappetizing looking pictures in the results. So I decided to take the dough from the cinnamon roll recipe by Annalise Roberts and make it into a more savory roll.

canola oil, coconut milk, sugar, GF flour, xanthan gum, salt, sweet rice flour, yeast, egg

The Method

Microwave half the milk for 1 minute, until it starts to boil. Add the rest of the milk to cool it down. stir in the yeast, sugar, and 1 Tablespoon sweet rice flour. Cover with a towel and set aside for 5 – 10 minutes until it becomes foamy. In a separate bowl, combine eggs and oil.

crescent rolls 002

In the bowl of your mixer, mix together GF flour, xanthan gum, salt, and remaining sweet rice flour. Add milk and egg mixtures. Mix well with an electric mixer (about 3 minutes).

crescent rolls 003

Divide dough into two sections (I only did half a recipe when taking these pictures, so there’s only one section.) Sandwich the dough between two sheets of parchment paper, and press the dough into a circle about 1/4″ thick. Use a pizza cutter to cut the circle into 8 wedges.

crescent rolls 004

Take each wedge, and roll up, starting with the larger outside. Shape into a crescent, and place on a baking sheet. If the dough starts sticking to your hands, wash them to get any residual dough off.

crescent rolls 005

Cover and let rise for 1 hour, or until doubled in size. Bake at 375 degrees F for 20 minutes, until light golden and cooked through.

crescent rolls 007

Crescent Rolls

Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free

Ingredients

  • ½ cup dairy-free milk, divided
  • 1 tablespoon yeast
  • ¼ cup sweet rice flour, divided
  • 1 Tablespoon sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 Tablespoons canola oil
  • 1 ¾ cup brown rice flour blend
  • 1 ¼ teaspoon xanthan gum
  • ½ teaspoon salt

Microwave 1/4 cup of milk for 1 minute until it starts to boil. Add the remaining milk to it to cool it down, and stir in the yeast, sugar, and 1 Tablespoon sweet rice flour. Cover with a towel and set aside for 5 – 10 minutes until it becomes foamy.

In a separate bowl, combine eggs and oil.

In a third bowl, mix together GF flour, xanthan gum, salt, and remaining sweet rice flour. Add milk and egg mixtures. Mix well with an electric mixer (about 3 minutes)

Divide the dough into 2 sections. Sandwich each section of dough between two sheets of parchment paper. Roll and form into circles about 1/4″ thick. Use a pizza cutter to cut into 8 wedges for each circle. Roll each wedge from the bottom, curve into a crescent shape, then place on a baking sheet. Cover and let rise for an hour.

When done rising, bake at 375 for 20 minutes until light golden and cooked through.

Makes 16 rolls.


cover copy copy

 

This recipe is featured in my cookbook The Best of the Rice of Life: Over 70 Gluten-free, Dairy-free, and Nut-free Recipes available now in print (Amazon, Create Space) and e-book (Kindle, iBooks, nook, Kobo and Smashwords).

 


Shared on Gluten-free Wednesday, Allergy-free Wednesday, Waste Not Want Not Wednesday, Full Plate Thursday, Pin It Thursday, Real Food Recipe Roundup, The Hearth and Soup Hop, and Gluten-free and DIY Tuesday

37 Comments leave one →
  1. September 17, 2014 9:22 am

    These look wonderful! I need to get some rice flour!

  2. Sara K. permalink
    September 17, 2014 1:41 pm

    I am so excited to find this recipe! I have so missed crescent rolls!! Looking forward to making these at hime! 🙂

  3. September 19, 2014 11:26 am

    Havent seen sweet rice flour before. I’ll have to keep an eye out! Looks good!

    • September 19, 2014 11:53 am

      My grocery store has a good range of gluten-free flours, and it wasn’t hard to find. The sweet rice definitely makes a difference with texture.

  4. Kerrie permalink
    September 19, 2014 5:06 pm

    Can I substitute Pamela’s baking blend or Cup for Cup for the brown rice flour mix?

    • September 19, 2014 5:58 pm

      I have never tried either of those, but I imagine you would get similar results. Just check if the mix already has xanthan gum or if you need to add it on your own.

  5. Karissa permalink
    September 19, 2014 7:17 pm

    Do these have to be made with dairy-free milk?

    • September 19, 2014 8:10 pm

      Regular milk should be fine. When making things dairy-free, I just substitute 1:1 for cow’s milk.

  6. KNB permalink
    September 20, 2014 4:16 pm

    Any ideas on the best egg alternative? I tried egg replacer, but it was really dry. Not sure if it was because I added the oil to the bowl of egg replacer? Seemed to have a chemical reaction of some sort. I ended up adding water then a bit more flour to half the batch. They are rising now! But curious if you have any tips!

    • September 20, 2014 4:32 pm

      Sorry, I don’t have any experience substituting eggs. I hope they turn out for you!

      • KNB permalink
        September 20, 2014 4:45 pm

        No prob. Thanks for the quick reply!

    • Sara K. permalink
      September 20, 2014 7:33 pm

      When I use egg replacer, I warm the water up first, before mixing the stuff. Warm, not hot water, seems to work the best. I haven’t made these yet, but the egg sub works very well in the other recipes I make, to include bread.

      Let us know if the warm water does it for you (instead of using cold, room temp, or hot water.)

  7. September 21, 2014 3:33 pm

    Your Crescent Rolls look delicious! Hope you are having a great weekend and thanks so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday.
    Come Back Soon!
    Miz Helen

  8. September 23, 2014 2:56 pm

    These look fantastic! Thanks so much for sharing this on Waste Not Want Not Wednesday, I’m featuring it this week 🙂

  9. September 24, 2014 12:53 pm

    Absolutely gorgeous! So happy you shared these on Gluten-Free Wednesday with us all! I’m not surprised that they were the top pick by readers this week. 😉

    Shirley

  10. September 29, 2014 8:59 am

    Looks delicious love to try this gluten free crescent rolls, , thanks for sharing with hearth and Soul blog hop. pinning.

  11. Sara permalink
    September 29, 2014 12:27 pm

    I tried to make these twice and failed. 😦 The first time the batch was way too dry. And the rolls didn’t rise much. I realized that I was suppose to add the second 1/4 cup of milk to the hot milk and didn’t. I added it to the flour mixture.

    The second time the batch was way too wet. I ended up adding close to a cup a gf flour to get it to the point I could roll it out. I also used melted butter instead of oil.

    The taste is pretty good, a bit more buttery tasting, but the texture was not what I had hoped for.

    I used brown rice flour instead of the sweet rice flour (due to availability.) In the past, I could not tell the difference between the sweet rice flour and the regular rice flour.

    Do you have any suggestions?

    Thanks!

    • September 29, 2014 6:38 pm

      I’m sorry these didn’t turn out for you. One thing I might add is that the batter is much wetter and stickier than normal batter. That’s why I recommend rolling it between parchment paper instead of adding flour to the counter and rolling pin. So my main recommendation would be to do that instead of adding so much flour.

      As for sweet rice flour, I have noticed that it makes yeast breads softer than brown rice flour alone. I’ve not experimented without to see how that affects the texture.

      I hope that helps!

      • Sara permalink
        September 30, 2014 9:13 am

        Thanks. I did try the paper and it stuck to that (the second go around.) I will keep trying. Who knows what the deal was. 🙂

  12. Beth permalink
    February 28, 2015 1:19 am

    These look lovely. Could I just boil the milk in a saucepan as I don’t have a microwave?

  13. Danielle permalink
    March 16, 2016 6:32 pm

    Have you made these in advance and left them in the fridge for any length of time? If so how long do you think they would last in the fridge?

    • March 16, 2016 8:56 pm

      I haven’t left them in the fridge, but we have had leftovers that I leave out on the counter in a bag. They seem ok for a couple days.

      • Danielle Hill permalink
        March 16, 2016 9:02 pm

        Thank you. Have you left them in the fridge before baking them for any length of time?

      • March 16, 2016 9:23 pm

        I have not. I don’t think it would ruin them to try though…

Trackbacks

  1. Paleo Crusty Bread, Gluten Free Crescent Rolls...it's Allergy Free Wednesday! - Life Made Full
  2. GFW: Top 10 Gluten-Free Cake Recipes, Gluten-Free Baking Mix, Crescent Rolls & Vegan Mug Blondie | gfe--gluten free easily
  3. Crescent Rolls, 2 Minute Mug Blondie, Chocolate Pumpkin Muffins, Cookie Dough Truffles & Vanilla Pumpkin Pancakes - Whole New Mom
  4. Allergy Free Crescent Rolls, Pumpkin Granola, Pumpkin Chocolate Muffins, Piri Piri Chicken
  5. Gluten Free Crescent Rolls | Gluten Free Pantry

Leave a Reply

