Skip to content

When Times Get Tough

February 5, 2014

My friends and I have been going through some tough times lately. Death, disability, pain, loss, its been everywhere. In the depths of her despair, my sister-in-law wrote a post about how God will give you more than you can handle, and it went viral. It’s actually a very uplifting article, because it highlights God’s promise to lift our burdens if we come to him. (Matt. 11: 28-30)

Of course, sometimes that lifting comes from taking away the burden, and other times we are strengthened to bear it. When we first learned of Joseph’s allergies, I pled in prayer that he would be healed. After many days, I felt the Spirit tell me “That is not my will.” So I changed my prayers to ask that I have the comfort, information, and ingenuity to be able to live with it. And that he has blessed me with in abundance.

I still don’t know why Joseph had so many problems. I do know that I have learned a lot from the experience. I continue to see that part of our purpose in life is to have sorrows, that we may learn empathy, and feel the full measure of joy. After all, the sweetest triumph comes after a lot of hard work.

If you are struggling, know that you’re not alone. That it is ok to cry and mourn. And I hope you find the help that you need.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

