Skip to content

Recipe Trial: Roasted Harvest Vegetables

November 4, 2011
Roasted Harvest Vegetables

This week, instead of following Willing Cook’s recipe in the Cook-A-Long (spaghetti squash has only had failure in my house), I chose to make Roasted Harvest Vegetables from Taste of Home.

The Changes

This recipe is naturally Joseph-safe, so the only thing I wanted to do with this recipe was cut it down to the 2 1/2 servings my family would actually eat. Instead of cutting all the vegetables proportionally, I just threw out the ones my family was less likely to eat. So I just used 2 red potatoes, 2 carrots, and 2 zucchini (in hindsight, I probably should have just done 1 zucchini, and added another potato). I then cut the spice drizzle in half.

2 red potatoes, 2 zucchinis, 2 carrots, olive oil, garlic powder, thyme, rosemary, salt, and pepper

The Method

Chop all the vegetables. I chopped the potatoes into eighths, the zucchini was cut in half and then sliced into wedges about half an inch thick. The carrot was chopped into about 1″ lengths, with the thicker ones chopped in half again. Combine in a large bowl.

Combine the olive oil and spices. I was surprised at how thick the drizzle got. It was also hard to get a picture of it under my daughter’s hands, as she didn’t want to stop stirring.

Drizzle oil mixture over vegetables and stir until vegetables are coated evenly. I find it easier to use my hands for this than a spoon, probably because while one hand mixes, the other keeps the vegetables from spilling out of the bowl. It smelled very nice at this point, and even better while it was baking.

Transfer the vegetables to a greased 15″ x 10″ pan. (Actually, a 9 x 13 would have probably worked too, for as few veggies as I made) bake uncovered for 30 minutes. The original recipe says to stir occasionally, so I just stirred at each 10 minute interval.

Roasted Harvest Vegetables

Roasted Harvest Vegetables

Adapted from Taste of Home

Dairy-free, Gluten-free, and Soy-free

Ingredients:

  • 2 red potatoes, chopped into eighths
  • 2 zucchinis, cut in half and sliced
  • 2 carrots, peeled, and chopped into 1″ lengths
  • 2 Tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons garlic powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 3/4 teaspoon dried rosemary, crushed
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon pepper

Place chopped vegetables in a large bowl. In a small bowl, combine oil and spices. Drizzle over vegetables and stir to coat evenly.

Transfer vegetables to a greased 15 x 10 pan. Bake uncovered at 400 degrees for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally.


cover copy copy

This recipe is featured in my cookbook The Best of the Rice of Life: Over 70 Gluten-free, Dairy-free, and Nut-free Recipes available now in print (Amazon, Create Space) and e-book (Kindle, iBooks, nook, Kobo and Smashwords).


What I Thought

I quite liked these, although I served them with a chicken prepared in a sweet & spicy marinade that drowned out the more delicate herbs on the vegetables. A plain chicken would have complemented them better. My husband said they were better than expected, mostly because he was expecting broccoli or cauliflower, which he doesn’t like. Still, he’d be open to eating it again. My daughter just stared at her dinner the entire time, and Joseph threw his veggies on the floor.

Shared on Allergy Friendly Friday, Slightly Indulgent Tuesday and Gluten-Free Wednesdays

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2011 8:02 am

    I love your description of your family’s reactions every week! I’d love to try this recipe myself, although I’m not a big fan of rosemary. Maybe I’d like it better crushed.

    Thanks for joining in the Willing Cook-A-Long this week. See you next week!

    • November 4, 2011 8:12 am

      Thanks. Cataloguing their reactions is partly for the record, and partly to practice my writing skills for “showing not telling” and making things interesting. I bet this recipe would taste good with other herbs too. I’m a big fan of the italian herbs.

  2. November 4, 2011 2:06 pm

    I love roasted veggies, I have some fresh rosemary in my garden and will have to include it next time I roast vegetables!

  3. Gamila permalink
    November 7, 2011 9:11 pm

    You are doing awesome Andy! Soon, you shall have a batch of useful allergy-free recipies. I am totally impressed by your cooking skills. I don’t know how you find the time with two littles ones about your feet. Sera keeps me so busy that I don’t spend much time making food these days. Just stuff I can whip up real fast.

    When you get a really good archive of recipies here you should make a little recipie book. Seems like most of the allergy books you mention always have some kind defect or cheat in them.

    Keep up the good work. You are a good momma.

  4. November 8, 2011 7:39 am

    Thanks Gamila! It helps that once my kids are mobile, they can entertain themselves for a good long while. And before they were mobile, they were content to just watch me from the blanket/bouncy chair. Though I do make plenty of “whip it up quick” meals too. 🙂

    It would be interesting to make a recipe book, but it will take me at least a couple years to build a big enough archive. Also, there are more and more allergy-free recipe books coming out all the time that I haven’t tried. So I don’t know how well I’ll be able to stand out in the market.

    Thanks again for the kind words!

Leave a comment