Skip to content

Sunbutter Rice Krispie Treats Trial: Nut-free, Gluten-free, Dairy-free

June 21, 2013
tags: , ,

One of my favorite foods to take to a potluck is Rice Krispie Treats. Not only are they relatively cheap, so I don’t mind others eating them, but it guarantees Joseph a dessert to eat, which is the hardest item to find naturally Joseph-safe. I’ve been wanting to experiment with different flavors for awhile, especially with my husband asking for peanut-butter-ish Rice Krispie treats. So this week, I decided to try adapting the recipe from RiceKrispies.com

The Changes

I substituted sunbutter for the peanut butter. I also added chocolate on top because chocolate is yummy, and in case the earthiness of the sunbutter came through, I wanted something to help mask it.

marshmallows, rice krispies, sunbutter, earth balance, Enjoy Life chocolate chips

The Method

In a large bowl, microwave 3 Tablespoons of buttery spread and marshmallows for 2 minutes. Stir. If not completely smooth, microwave for another minute. Stir in sunbutter.

krispie treats 03

Add rice krispies and stir until coated. Transfer to a greased 9″ x 13″ pan. Press into place with a folded up piece of parchment paper (the marshmallow won’t stick if it’s just touching a small piece).

krispie treats 04

In a small bowl, microwave the chocolate chips and remaining buttery spread in 30 second increments until melted. I don’t know if it was the buttery spread or the chocolate chips, but this didn’t give me the same smooth consistency as regular chocolate chips. I had to spread it onto the rice krispies treats more like frosting than melted chocolate.

krispie treats 05

Let cool (in the fridge if desired), cut into squares and serve.

krispie treats 06

Sunbutter Rice Krispie Treats

Adapted from RiceKrispies.com

Nut-free, Gluten-free, Dairy-free

Ingredients

  • 4 Tablespoons Earth Balance Buttery Spread (divided)
  • ~40 large marshmallows (or 4 cups mini marshmallows)
  • 1/2 cup sunbutter
  • 6 cups Gluten-free Rice Krispies
  • 1 cup Enjoy Life semi-sweet chocolate chips

In a large bowl, microwave 3 Tablespoons buttery spread and marshmallows for 2 minutes. Stir. If not completely smooth, microwave for another minute. Stir in sunbutter until smooth.

Mix in Rice Krispies and stir until coated. Press into a greased 13″ x 9″ pan.

In a small bowl, melt remaining 1 Tablespoon buttery spread with chocolate chips in microwave, stirring every 30 seconds. Spread on top of the Rice Krispie treats. Let cool, cut, and serve.

Makes 1 1/2 – 2 dozen squares

 


cover copy copy

 

This recipe is featured in my cookbook The Best of the Rice of Life: Over 70 Gluten-free, Dairy-free, and Nut-free Recipes available now in print (Amazon, Create Space) and e-book (Kindle, iBooks, nook, Kobo and Smashwords).

 


 

What I Thought

I don’t particularly care for the taste of sunbutter. I find it has an earthy aftertaste. I hoped that the marshmallows and chocolate would mask that flavor in these treats, and they did! The sunbutter gives just a hint of flavor and the chocolate topping was messy but yummy. My husband and daughter both enjoyed them, and Joseph has been asking for another treat almost every hour of the day. It’s been a great treat to bribe him to do things with. 🙂 Definitely would do these again.

Shared on Slightly Indulgent Tuesday, Gluten-free Wednesday and Allergy-Free Wednesday

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Alyssa permalink
    October 22, 2014 1:09 pm

    Hi,
    I’m sorry to bother you. But I’m in charge of treats for my sons Orchestra party. There are kids allergic to nuts and milk. I am new to all of this. I’m wondering if you could tell me if I make homemade rice Krispie treats using margarine, rice Krispies and marshmallows, are they dairy and nut free? Are the store bought ones safe? I certainly don’t want to hurt any child but would like them to be able to eat the same thing as everyone else so they don’t feel left out. Any help you could give is appreciated!

    • October 22, 2014 2:41 pm

      Margarine still has dairy in it. You have to get special non-dairy margarines for it to work. If you can’t find that, I’ve used coconut oil with success.

      As for store-bought ones, if in doubt, read the ingredients. But I would bet they still contain milk products.

      Good luck and thanks for thinking about the kids with allergies!

Trackbacks

  1. Your Favorite Recipes for 2013 | The Rice of Life
  2. The Best of The Rice of Life Cookbook Now Available! | The Rice of Life

Leave a comment