Skip to content

Baked Vegan Taquitos Trial: Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Soy-free

December 9, 2011
Black Bean and Spinach Taquitos

A couple years ago, my friend Sara posted a recipe for some awesome creamy chicken taquitos which became a hit on her blog. I enjoyed making them, but sadly, I can’t figure out how to recreate them since I have no idea what to do as a sub for cream cheese that is dairy and soy free.

But in her cookbook, she includes a recipe for vegetarian taquitos that I enjoyed eating, so I set out to try adapting them to be Joseph-safe.

The Changes

The recipe calls for whole wheat tortillas, but I just swapped them for corn tortillas. I also chose to cut out the cheese and red peppers (because I don’t care for peppers, not because of allergies). I also changed the method for oiling the taquitos before baking them to avoid using cooking spray (which usually contains soy).

corn tortillas, pepper, lime juice, black beans, spinach, cumin, salt, salsa, corn

The Method

In a food processor, puree 3/4 cup of the beans (about half the can), salsa, garlic, cumin, salt, pepper, and lime juice until smooth.

Transfer to a medium bowl and add remaining beans, corn and spinach. Unfortunately, I forgot to drain the spinach before mixing it in. I tried to make up for it by pressing paper towels onto the mixture, but I bet I got less than half the liquid. I’m sure it affected the taste some, because these were a lot more spinachy than before. So learn from my mistake!

Corn tortillas are prone to cracking, so I’m going to share what I’ve learned to deal with them. First – the fresher the tortillas are, the less prone they are to cracking. This is a “do as I say not as I do” thing, because I tend to buy tortillas and then leave them in my pantry until I want to use them. Second – wrap a couple tortillas in moist paper towels and microwave them for 20-30 seconds. I wrap the paper towel so there’s a layer below, between and above the tortillas, and find I need to rewet the towel every other time. And you’ll want to work quickly, because they will lose their softness as they cool.

Place a spoonful (about 3 Tablespoons worth) of filling on the warmed tortilla and wrap it up.

Place rolled tortillas on a foil lined baking sheet. When all taquitos are rolled, brush canola oil over the top of each, then sprinkle with salt. Bake at 425 for 20 minutes until edges are golden brown and crisp.

You can serve these with salsa, though our family doesn’t care for that so we just ate them plain. I would love to come up with a way to adapt Sara’s Creamy Cilantro-Lime Ranch to be Joseph-safe to go with these though.

Black Bean and Spinach Taquitos

Baked Vegan Taquitos

Adapted from Our Best Bites

Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Soy-free

Ingredients:

  • 1 (14 ounce) can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 2 Tablespoons bottled salsa
  • 1 garlic clove, pressed/minced
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper
  • 2 Tablespoons lime juice
  • 1 (10 ounce) box frozen spinach, thawed, drained, and roughly chopped
  • 3/4 cup frozen corn kernels
  • 13-15 corn tortillas
  • 2 Tablespoons canola oil

Preheat oven to 425 degrees and line baking sheet with foil.

Puree 3/4 cup black beans, salsa, garlic, cumin, salt, pepper, and lime juice in a food processor until smooth. Transfer to a medium bowl and add the rest of the beans, spinach, and corn. Mix together.

Place about 3 Tablespoons filling on each tortilla, then wrap and place on baking sheet. Brush canola oil over each taquito, then sprinkle with salt.

Bake for 20-25 minutes until edges are golden brown and crisp.

Makes 13-15 taquitos.


cover copy copy

 

This recipe is featured in my cookbook The Best of the Rice of Life: Over 70 Gluten-free, Dairy-free, and Nut-free Recipes available now in print (Amazon, Create Space) and e-book (Kindle, iBooks, nook, Kobo and Smashwords).

 


 

What I Thought

These didn’t live up to my memory of these taquitos. I missed the cheese. I also remember the spinach being a lot more subtle (I blame the lack of draining). I felt like they needed a bit more kick to make up for the lack of cheese. My husband complained that they weren’t taquitos because they didn’t have meat and they weren’t greasy. My daughter just nibbled down the sides, trying to eat as little of the filling as possible. Joseph ate an entire taquito, probably burning his mouth in the process. Poor guy. So I’d do it again, though I’ll probably have to make a carnivore version, with cheese, first to appease my husband.

Shared on Allergy Friendly Friday, Go Ahead Honey… It’s Gluten-FreeMy Meatless Mondays, Slightly Indulgent Tuesday, and Gluten-Free Wednesdays

12 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2011 9:16 am

    They look good. Your feedback is also helpful. I found some GF brown rice tortillas from Food for Life. There’s no dairy or soy in the ingredients and the only thing that might be a catch is the usual disclaimer phrase: “the product is packaged in a facility that also processes tree nuts.”

    When I found them, I was eager to try them. There’s a bit of an after taste, but hey, when you’ve been deprived soft shells for years, they taste pretty good. I found mine at a local grocery store, but I saw them on Amazon at: http://www.amazon.com/Food-Life-Brown-Gluten-Tortillas/dp/B004VMFRSI/ref=sr_1_2?s=grocery&ie=UTF8&qid=1323450892&sr=1-2

    • December 9, 2011 9:21 am

      I’ve seen the brown rice tortillas in my store too, but haven’t tried them yet. I’ll definitely have to soon, because enchiladas with corn tortillas just isn’t the same. 🙂 Thanks for your kind words!

  2. December 12, 2011 9:23 pm

    Would you be able to substitute mayo for the cream cheese? I don’t have any mayo labels around the house to look at, but homemade mayo, at least, is just eggs and oil…that might give it a nice creaminess.

    Also, I’m now craving tacitos — those look yummy.

    • December 13, 2011 9:02 am

      I’ve not thought about that. I had a hard time finding a mayo that doesn’t have soybean oil in it, but I have some in the pantry now. Next time I want to try a recipe that calls for cream cheese, I shall have to try that.

  3. shelley permalink
    December 13, 2011 8:36 pm

    what about draining a coconut milk yogurt? I make my own cream cheese from homemade yogurt that way. I haven’t tried it, but since we are in need of dairy free eating lately that is my thought. Thanks for the recipe!

    • December 13, 2011 10:54 pm

      I have never heard of doing that. Intriguing. I know that coconut yogurt is runnier than regular yogurt, but anything’s worth a try.

  4. December 18, 2011 2:01 pm

    Your recipe will be featured tomorrow on My Meatless Mondays. I am so glad that you shared this with us . I want to make it for my husband.

    Come on over and visit.

    • December 22, 2011 5:15 pm

      Thank you for featuring it. I hope they turn out well for you!

  5. Jules permalink
    July 18, 2012 9:02 am

    This looks good! I would mention, “Food for Life” tortillas are not safe for Celiac’s as they have been tested by an independent lab to have over 80 ppm (parts per million) of gluten. Gluten free watch dog tests lots of items that are listed as “gluten free”.

Trackbacks

  1. Recipes Free of Top 8 Allergens Roundup « The Rice of Life
  2. Your Favorite Posts – 2012 « The Rice of Life

Leave a comment