Skip to content

Crockpot Rotisserie Chicken Trial: Dairy-free, Gluten-free, Soy-free

January 13, 2012

I didn’t grow up on rotisserie chicken, though my husband did. I just don’t like picking all the meat off the bones. Seems to be too much work. This Christmas was the first time I ever cooked a full bird. It went well (apart from the fact that I left the bag of giblets inside the bird while it cooked). So, when I saw a sale on fryer chickens, I decided to try out a recipe I’d seen on Our Best Bites to make rotisserie chicken in a crockpot (though I’m using a seasoning blend from their cookbook)

The Changes

This recipe is naturally Joseph-safe, so I didn’t make any changes

The Method

Crumple three sheets of aluminum foil into 3 two-inch balls. Place them at the bottom of your slow cooker. This is to keep the chicken above the juices as it cooks.

If you’re using a frozen chicken, make sure it’s thawed. Rinse it inside and out in cold water and pat dry with paper towels. Remove and discard any chicken parts left in the cavity (I actually didn’t find any before or after cooking in my chicken, but yours may differ).  Separate the skin from the meatof the entire chicken (I did both front and back, legs and breast). Be gentle, or you’ll end up tearing the skin like I did. Sprinkle rosemary liberally under the skin.

Cut the lemon in half and squeeze the juice from both halves over the chicken skin. Rub it in to the skin, then sprinkle liberally with seasoning salt. I rubbed that in too for good measure. Stuff the lemon in the cavity of the chicken, then place in the crockpot.

Cover and cook on low for 6-7 hours. Mine ended up in there for closer to 8 hours (due to my husband not being home when the chicken was ready), and the meat was really dry. To check if it’s done, a meat thermometer inserted into the thickest part of the breast should read 160 degrees F. And I’m sorry that I forgot to take a picture of the finished project until we were halfway through dinner. So there’s no pretty picture of a roasted bird. It wouldn’t have been super pretty anyway, because the drumsticks and wings fell off inside the crockpot. It was nice to be able to just use our forks to pull off the amount of meat that we wanted at the table though.

Crockpot Rotisserie Chicken

Original recipe from Our Best Bites

Dairy-free, Gluten-free, Soy-free

Ingredients

  • 1 whole chicken (mine was under 3 pounds, though they suggest 3 1/2 pound – 4 pounds)
  • 1 teaspoon seasoning salt
  • 1-2 teaspoons rosemary (I didn’t measure this)
  • 1 lemon

Crumple 3 sheets of aluminum into 3 two-inch balls. Place the balls at the bottom of the crockpot.

Rise the chicken inside and out with cold water, then pat dry with paper towels. Separate the skin from the meat and liberally sprinkle under the skin with rosemary. Cut the lemon in half and squeeze the juice from both halves over the skin and rub in. Sprinkle with seasoning salt and rub that in too.

Stuff the lemon halves into the cavity and place the chicken in the crockpot. Cover and cook on low for 6-7 hours, or until a meat thermometer reads 160 degrees F.

Makes 4-6 servings

What I Thought

As I mentioned above, I overcooked the meat and it ended up dry. I loved how tender the meat was though. Joseph ate like he couldn’t get enough of it, though my daughter ignored it. My husband and I both liked the taste. I would have preferred the meat itself to have more of a lemony flavor (I don’t like eating the skin) so next time I’d squeeze some juices under the skin. The rosemary wasn’t particularly strong either – I’m not sure if that’s because I used dried rosemary, or if I just needed to crush it before sprinkling it under the skin. Ah well, I’d do it again.

Shared on Allergy Friendly Friday, Slightly Indulgent Tuesday, and Gluten-Free Wednesdays

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    January 13, 2012 8:21 am

    Cut the lemon into 2 halves before putting it in the bird to get more of a lemon taste.

  2. Mom permalink
    January 13, 2012 8:23 am

    Oh never mind, you did, sorry. Go ahead and delete my first post if you want.

    • January 13, 2012 8:58 am

      That’s ok. From the picture, it doesn’t look like I cut the lemon. It could be that I squeezed out too much juice onto the skin for the meat to get any taste from it. Ah well.

  3. January 13, 2012 12:36 pm

    I love whole chicken and fix it quite often. My husband and kids like the giblet sack too (i stay away from it). It’s nice to be able to throw it all together and come out with a nice juicy chicken (as long as it’s not overcooked 🙂 ). Thanks for sharing it at the Willing Cook-a-Long. I can’t wait to see what you come up with for next week!

  4. January 17, 2012 11:48 am

    Annaliese, I looked for an email on your site, but couldn’t find one. Since you have been such a loyal contributor to the Willing Cook-a-Long and wanted to let you know (first) of a change coming up. I’m bringing the recipe challenge to an end (tomorrow is the last scheduled post for it). It just never caught on. I am replacing it though. With a few other bloggers, we are hosting a blog hop, starting next Wednesday, The only requirement is that the recipe be allergy-friendly in some way. So, really, there won’t be much change from what you already do.

    Again, thank you so much for joining in my recipe challenge week after week. You have been encouraging to me in your support.

    Blessings to you! Hope to see you join us in the blog hop!
    Michelle

    • January 17, 2012 1:10 pm

      Yeah, I’ve not created an email for this site yet. I did see on the blog your post about the change.

      And even though your cook-a-long never really caught on, I’m glad I jumped on, since it gave me the push I needed to experiment more with allergy-friendly foods, and the recipes have brought people to my blog, which encourages me to continue. I’ll see you in the blog hop!

Trackbacks

  1. Recipes Free of Top 8 Allergens Roundup « The Rice of Life

Leave a comment