Skip to content

Pasta with Peas and Chicken Trial: Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free

February 1, 2013

One of the things I miss the most while cooking dairy-free is alternatives to red sauces for pasta. So when I spotted a recipe on Gluten Freely Frugal for a pasta recipe that was dairy-free and tomato free, I pinned it, and finally got around to making it this week.

The Changes

My husband doesn’t like sausage or broccoli, so I substituted chicken and peas instead.

chicken, olive oil, GF pasta, peas, oregano

The Method

This recipe is so easy, I didn’t feel the need to take any intermediate pictures. You cook the chicken, then cut it into bite size pieces. Meanwhile, cook the pasta according to package directions, adding the peas in the last few minutes of cooking. Drain the pasta, add the chicken, oil, oregano, and salt, and toss until everything is coated.

chicken noodles 043

Pasta with Peas and Chicken

Adapted from Gluten-free Homemaker

Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free

Ingredients:

  • 12 ounces gluten-free pasta
  • 3 smal chicken breasts, cooked and cut into bite size pieces
  • 1/2 cup frozen peas (Um… I actually didn’t measure how much I poured in)
  • 2 Tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 Tablespoon oregano
  • salt to taste

Cook pasta according to package directions. When pasta is tender, add the frozen peas. When the water returns to a boil, drain pasta and peas. Add chicken, oil, oregano, and salt, and toss to coat. Serve immediately.

Makes 5-6 servings


cover copy copy

This recipe is featured in my cookbook The Best of the Rice of Life: Over 70 Gluten-free, Dairy-free, and Nut-free Recipes available now in print (Amazon, Create Space) and e-book (Kindle, iBooks, nook, Kobo and Smashwords).


What I Thought

At first, I thought this recipe was a bit bland, but then again, I did forget the salt. All the dairy eaters added parmesan to their pasta, and quite liked it. BOTH kids had seconds and thirds of this dish, though they did just leave the peas on their plates. I will definitely be doing this again, and will probably play with the spices. I’m intrigued by the idea of basil in the original post from Gluten-free Homemaker.

Shared on Allergy Friendly Summer, Slightly Indulgent Tuesday, Gluten-Free Wednesdays and Allergy-free Wednesdays

Leave a comment