Skip to content

Garlic Artichoke Dip Trial: Dairy-free, Gluten-free, Nut-free

August 3, 2012

This week, my husband requested that I make a garlic artichoke dip. As I was re-reading the recipe that I’ve made before (and thoroughly enjoyed), from Our Best Bites, I wondered how it would turn out if I made it dairy-free. That was possible, now that Joseph can have soy. So, I decided to try making both versions, and see how the dairy-free version stacked up.

The Changes

I used Tofutti’s dairy-free cream cheese 1:1 for regular cream cheese, and mozzerella Daiya cheese 1:1 for the parmesan cheese. Everything else stayed the same (except I halved the recipe).

mozzerella daiya cheese, mayonnaise, tofutti cream cheese, marinated artichoke hearts, garlic

The Method

This recipe isn’t hard, though it can be time consuming (especially when you’re making a dairy-full batch at the same time). Chop the artichoke hearts and mince the garlic. Then combine all ingredients in a large bowl until well mixed. Spoon into baking containers.

These loaf pans only were filled 1/2″ thick. I wanted to split it, since I didn’t think Joseph could eat all the dip himself. So, I prepared one pan for a friend who’s had to give up dairy for her breastfeeding infant.

Bake at 350 degrees Fahrenheit, for 20-30 minutes. The original recipe says to bake until the dip is browned and bubbly. I put this dip in at the same time as the dairy-full dip. While the dairy-full dip browned, the dairy-free dip did not very well.

Serve warm with tortilla chips.

Garlic Artichoke Dip

Adapted from Our Best Bites

Dairy-free, gluten-free, nut-free

  • 8 oz Tofutti Better Than Cream Cheese, softened
  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise
  • 1/2 cup Daiya mozzarella style shreds
  • 1 7.5 ounce jar marinated artichoke hearts, drained and chopped
  • 3-4 cloves garlic, minced

In a large bowl, combine all ingredients until well mixed. Spoon into desired baking dishes (a double recipe will fill a 9″ pie plate). Bake at 350 degrees Fahrenheit for 20-30 minutes, or until it’s bubbly on top. Serve warm with chips

Makes 5-6 servings


cover copy copy

 

This recipe is featured in my cookbook The Best of the Rice of Life: Over 70 Gluten-free, Dairy-free, and Nut-free Recipes available now in print (Amazon, Create Space) and e-book (Kindle, iBooks, nook, Kobo and Smashwords).

 


 

What I Thought

My husband only ate the dairy-full dip, and my daughter refused to touch either. Joseph quite liked dipping his chips in his dip. When I tried some, I was surprised to find the taste extremely close to the dairy-full dip, thanks to the marinated artichoke hearts and garlic. It was also nice and creamy. I’d do this again.

Shared on Allergy Friendly Friday, Slightly Indulgent Tuesday, Allergy-free Wednedays and Gluten-free Wednesdays

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2012 10:29 am

    This looks awesome! Would love you have you link it up at: Our Gluten Free Friday’s Recipe party! You can find this week’s link up here: http://vegetarianmamma.com/gluten-free-friday-recipe-link-up-1/

    Thanks, Cindy

Trackbacks

  1. Second Year Favorites | The Rice of Life

Leave a comment