Skip to content

Apple Cinnamon Muffins Trial: Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free

October 12, 2012

As I mentioned on Wednesday, I don’t normally cook hot breakfasts. However, I do have a tradition to make a hot breakfast when we watch our church’s general conference, which was last weekend. So, I decided to try out a new muffin recipe from Gluten-Free Baking Classics.

The Changes

To make it dairy-free, I substituted coconut milk for the cow’s milk. Also, since I haven’t been much of a fan of gluten- & dairy-free streusel, I decided to just top the muffins with cinnamon sugar. I also omitted the walnuts.

GF flour, sugar, coconut milk, canola oil, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, xanthan gum, apple, eggs, cinnamon

The Method

Mix together dry ingredients (GF flour blend, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, xanthan gum, salt, and cinnamon) in a large bowl. Add chopped apples and stir to coat.

In a separate bowl, combine milk, oil, and eggs. Roberts’ instructions say to throw away 1 Tablespoon of this liquid, but I didn’t bother. Add liquids to the flour mixture and stir until blended.

Fill muffin cups, and top with cinnamon sugar.

Bake at 375 degrees F for about 20 minutes, until light golden.

Feel free to serve immediately.

Apple Cinnamon Muffins

Adapted from Gluten-Free Baking Classics.

Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups King Arthur Gluten-Free Multipurpose Flour*
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon xanthan gum
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1 apple, chopped & peeled
  • 1/2 cup coconut milk
  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 2 large eggs
  • cinnamon sugar **

Mix flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, xanthan gum, salt, and cinnamon in a large bowl. Add apples and stir to coat. In a separate bowl, beat together milk, oil, and eggs. Add milk mixture to flour mixture and stir until just blended.

Fill muffin cups 2/3 full. Sprinkle the tops with cinnamon sugar. Bake at 375 degrees F for about 20 minutes until light golden.

Makes 12 muffins.

*To make your own flour mix, follow these instructions from King Arthur: Whisk together 6 cups (32 ounces) King Arthur stabilized brown rice flour; 2 cups (10 3/4 ounces) potato starch; and 1 cup (4 ounces) tapioca flour or tapioca starch. Store airtight at room temperature.

** I don’t remember the proportions I used for my cinnamon sugar, but Roberts suggests combining 2 Tablespoons sugar with 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon


cover copy copy

This recipe is featured in my cookbook The Best of the Rice of Life: Over 70 Gluten-free, Dairy-free, and Nut-free Recipes available now in print (Amazon, Create Space) and e-book (Kindle, iBooks, nook, Kobo and Smashwords).


What I Thought

These muffins look like wheat muffins, but they’re nice and light. My husband said that he wouldn’t know they were Joseph-safe except for the fact that I was just giving them to him. My daughter just nibbled the top, but Joseph has eaten several muffins. I’d definitely do these again.

Shared on Allergy-Friendly Friday, Slightly Indulgent Tuesday, Allergy-Free Wednesday, and Gluten-Free Wednesdays

One Comment leave one →
  1. vegetarianmamma permalink
    March 6, 2013 1:40 pm

    These look so moist and yummy! I hope you stop by Gluten Free Fridays this week to link up this yummy recipe! It will be live Thursday evening at 7:05 pm! We are having a Gluten Free giveaway this week to one lucky person! Hope to see you there! Cindy vegetarianmamma.com 🙂

Leave a comment