Skip to content

Pizza Sauce: Dairy-free, Gluten-free, Soy-free

April 25, 2012

Unlike my First Try Fridays, this is a recipe I’ve tested until I liked it.

We eat a lot of pizza at our house. Usually, this involves a frozen pizza for those of us who don’t have allergies, and an individual pizza for Joseph. I use Udi’s pizza crust, and Daiya cheese. He didn’t seem to care for pepperoni, and since I am worried about what ingredients could be in it, I’m happy to leave it off. But I still felt like his pizzas were a bit plain, especially when I was dumping plain tomato sauce on the crust. So, I adapted Our Best Bites’ pizza sauce recipe to be dairy-free, and have been quite happy with it. In fact, I’ll even use this sauce on our own pizza on the occasions when we’re having homemade pizza.

I love that this recipe is one step – just combine all ingredients in a bowl. It means I can whip it up while the oven is preheating.

I found that 1/4 cup of sauce is enough to cover an Udi pizza crust. I’ll freeze the rest in ice cube trays for easy serving portions the next time I make pizza (2 cubes = 1/4 cup sauce).

At some point, I’m sure I’ll combine most/all of these spices into a container labeled “pizza seasoning” so I can save time in grabbing spice containers.

Pizza Sauce

Adapted from Our Best Bites

Dairy-free, Gluten-free, Soy-free

Ingredients:

  • 1 8oz can tomato sauce
  •  1 Tablespoon sugar
  • ¾ teaspoon onion powder
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ½ teaspoon garlic powder
  • ½ teaspoon oregano
  • ½ teaspoon basil
  • ½ teaspoon marjarom
  • ½ teaspoon parsley

Combine all ingredients in a bowl and stir to combine.

Makes enough sauce for 4 Udi’s pizza crusts, or 2 average size pizzas.


cover copy copy

 

This recipe is featured in my cookbook The Best of the Rice of Life: Over 70 Gluten-free, Dairy-free, and Nut-free Recipes available now in print (Amazon, Create Space) and e-book (Kindle, iBooks, nook, Kobo and Smashwords).

 


 

Shared on Allergy-Free Wednesdays

No comments yet

Leave a comment